What countries are on green list? Holiday destinations on quarantine-free list after last UK travel update

Denmark, Canada and Switzerland are among the seven countries added to the green travel list at the latest UK Government review

A handful of holiday destinations were added to the green list following the latest UK travel review.

Under the travel traffic light system, summer holidays abroad from Scotland are back on the cards as coronavirus cases soar to new heights at home.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

International destinations have been added to green, amber and red lists depending on the Covid risks associated with travelling to and from them.

What countries are on green list? Holiday destinations on quarantine-free travel list after latest UK update (Photo: Getty Images)What countries are on green list? Holiday destinations on quarantine-free travel list after latest UK update (Photo: Getty Images)
What countries are on green list? Holiday destinations on quarantine-free travel list after latest UK update (Photo: Getty Images)

Scots are able to travel to a number of green countries without needing to self-isolate on return, and fully jabbed people coming from amber list destinations now no longer need to quarantine.

Holidaymakers were hoping that popular tourist hotspots like Italy, Germany and France would be added to the green list during the latest travel update.

So, which countries were added to the green list?

Here’s what you need to know.

Read More
When is the next travel update? Expected date of next green, amber and red list ...

What new countries were added to the green list?

The UK Government is reviewing the traffic light system every three weeks, with any changes so far being applied across the four nations.

Only a few select countries changed to green after the latest review.

UK Transport Secretary Grant Shapps announced on Thursday (26 August) that The Azores, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania and Switzerland will be added to the green list.

The Scottish Government confirmed that this change would also come into place north of the border.

Arrivals from these destinations into Scotland will not have to isolate for 10 days on return, regardless of their vaccine status.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

While many holidaymakers feared that Spain could move to the UK red list after concerns over a rise in the Covid-19 Beta variant, the UK Government has kept the country on the amber list – meaning that travellers coming back from Spain will not have to self-isolate if they have been double-jabbed.

Meanwhile, Montenegro and Thailand were moved to the amber list from the red.

When will the green list changes take effect?

Changes to the green list will come into effect on Monday 30 August at 4am.

Full list of green list countries

The green list now comprises multiple countries.

These are: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Austria, The Azores, Barbados, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Cayman Islands, Croatia, Denmark, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Finland, Germany, Gibraltar, Grenada, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel and Jerusalem, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Madeira, Malta, Montserrat, New Zealand, Norway, Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands, St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Switzerland, Taiwan and Turks and Caicos Islands.

People coming back from green list countries don’t have to quarantine, but they do need to take a PCR Covid test on day two of their arrival back into the UK.

Arrivals also need to take a pre-departure test.

The devolved administrations have told people not to travel to countries that aren’t on the green list, unless for essential reasons.

Some green list countries also continue to have restrictions in place for those coming from the UK, including quarantine measures, so you should check all requirements and FCDO travel advice before booking a holiday.

Which places are on the green watchlist?

Some countries have been placed on the “green watchlist”, which consists of countries and territories that are green but are in danger of being moved to the amber or red lists if they see a rise in Covid-19 cases.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

These are: Anguilla, Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Bermuda, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cayman Islands, Croatia, Dominica, Grenada, Israel and Jerusalem, Madeira, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Taiwan, Turks and Caicos Islands.



Want to join the conversation? Please or to comment on this article.