Scottish Parliament election 2021: full list of 129 MSPs by party, region and constituency – and current composition of Holyrood

There are 129 MSPs (Getty Images)There are 129 MSPs (Getty Images)
There are 129 MSPs (Getty Images)
Scotland’s political parties are competing for 129 MSP seats on May 6

Scotland’s political parties are making a last minute push for votes ahead of the Holyrood elections.

Hundreds of candidates are vying to be a part of the sixth Scottish Parliament.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

There are 129 seats up for grabs, and the ruling Scottish National Party will be looking to increase their tally of 63 seats garnered at the 2016 election.

What’s the current makeup of the Scottish Parliament?

The SNP fell just short of a majority at the May 2016 election, claiming 63 seats.

Their nearest rivals were the Scottish Conservatives who scooped up 31 seats, closely followed by Scottish Labour who occupied 24.

The pro-independence Scottish Greens picked up six seats, while the Scottish Liberal Democrats claimed just five seats.

Changing party allegiances have seen some slight changes to the compositon of the Scottish Parliament, the SNPs majority slipping from three to six. Ahead of the 2021 election the SNP hold 61 seats, the Scottish Conservatives hold 30, Scottish Labour 23, Scottish Greens 5 and the Scottish Liberal Democrats unchanged with five seats.

Michelle Ballantyne now represents Reform UK Scotland, while three MSPs are independents. Ken Macintosh is the presiding officer of the Scottish Parliament.

Who are the current MSPs?

Here’s a list of current MSPs by party


George Adam (Paisley)

Clare Adamson (Motherwell and Wishaw)

Alasdair Allan (Na h-Eileanan an Iar)

Tom Arthur Renfrewshire South)

Colin Beattie (Midlothian North and Musselburgh)

Keith Brown (Clackmannanshire and Dunblane)

Aileen Campbell (Clydesdale)

Willie Coffey (Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley)

Angela Constance (Almond Valley)

Bruce Crawford (Stirling)

Roseanna Cunningham (Perthshire South and Kinross-shire)

Ash Denham (Edinburgh Eastern)

Graeme Dey (Angus South)

Bob Doris (Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn)

James Dornan (Glasgow Cathcart)

Annabelle Ewing (Cowdenbeath)

Fergus Ewing (Inverness and Nairn)

Linda Fabiani (East Kilbride)

Joe FitzPatrick (Dundee City West)

Kate Forbes (Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch)

Jeane Freeman (Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley)

Kenneth Gibson (Cunninghame North)

Jenny Gilruth (Mid Fife and Glenrothes)

Mairi Gougeon (Angus North and Mearns)

Christine Grahame (Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale)

Emma Harper (South Scotland)

Clare Haughey (Rutherglen)

Jamie Hepburn (Cumbernauld and Kilsyth)

Fiona Hyslop (Linlithgow)

Bill Kidd (Glasgow Anniesland)

Richard Lochhead (Moray)

Richard Lyle (Uddingston and Bellshill)

Angus MacDonald (Falkirk East)

Gordon MacDonald (Edinburgh Pentlands)

Fulton MacGregor (Coatbridge and Chryston)

Rona Mackay (Strathkelvin and Bearsden)

Ben Macpherson (Edinburgh North and Leith)

Ruth Maguire (Cunninghame South)

Gillian Martin (Aberdeenshire East)

John Mason (Glasgow Shettleston)

Michael Matheson (Falkirk West)

Joan McAlpine (South Scotland)

Ivan McKee (Glasgow Provan)

Christina McKelvie (Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse)

Stuart McMillan (Greenock and Inverclyde)

Alex Neil (Airdrie and Shotts)

Gil Paterson (Clydebank and Milngavie)

Shona Robison Dundee City East)

Gail Ross (Caithness, Sutherland and Ross)

Michael Russell (Argyll and Bute)

Shirley-Anne Somerville (Dunfermline)

Stewart Stevenson (Banffshire and Buchan Coast)

Kevin Stewart (Aberdeen Central)

Nicola Sturgeon (Glasgow Southside)

John Swinney (Perthshire North)

Maree Todd (Highlands and Islands)

David Torrance (Kirkcaldy)

Maureen Watt (Aberdeen South and North Kincardine)

Paul Wheelhouse (South Scotland)

Sandra White (Glasgow Kelvin)

Humza Yousaf (Glasgow Pollok)

Scottish Conservatives

Jeremy Balfour (Lothian)

Bill Bowman (North East)

Miles Briggs (Lothian)

Alexander Burnett (Aberdeenshire West)

Donald Cameron (Highlands and Islands)

Jackson Carlaw (Eastwood)

Finlay Carson (Galloway and West Dumfries)

Peter Chapman (North East Scotland)

Maurice Corry (West Scotland)

Ruth Davidson (Edinburgh Central)

Murdo Fraser (Mid Scotland and Fife)

Maurice Golden (West Scotland)

Jamie Greene (West Scotland)

Jamie Halcro Johnston (Highlands and Islands)

Rachael Hamilton (Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire)

Alison Harris (Central Scotland)

Liam Kerr (North East Scotland)

Gordon Lindhurst (Lothian)

Dean Lockhart (Mid Scotland and Fife)

Tom Mason (North East Scotland)

Margaret Mitchell (Central Scotland)

Edward Mountain (Highlands and Islands)

Oliver Mundell (Dumfriesshire)

John Scott (Ayr)

Graham Simpson (Central Scotland)

Elizabeth Smith (Mid Scotland and Fife)

Alexander Stewart (Mid Scotland and Fife)

Adam Tomkins (Glasgow)

Annie Wells (Glasgow)

Brian Whittle (South Scotland)

Scottish Labour

Jackie Baillie (Dumbarton)

Claire Baker (Mid Scotland and Fife)

Claudia Beamish (South Scotland)

Neil Bibby (West Scotland)

Sarah Boyack (Lothian)

Mary Fee (West Scotland)

Neil Findlay (Lothian)

Rhoda Grant (Highlands and Islands)

Iain Gray (East Lothian)

Mark Griffin (Central Scotland)

Daniel Johnson (Edinburgh)

James Kelly (Glasgow)

Johann Lamont (Glasgow)

Monica Lennon (Central Scotland)

Richard Leonard (Central Scotland)

Lewis Macdonald (North East Scotland)

Jenny Marra (North East Scotland)

Pauline McNeill (Glasgow)

Alex Rowley (Mid Scotland and Fife)

Anas Sarwar (Glasgow)

Elaine Smith (Central)

Colin Smyth (South Scotland)

David Stewart (Highlands and Islands)

Scottish Liberal Democrats

Alex Cole-Hamilton (Edinburgh Western)

Liam McArthur (Orkney)

Willie Rennie (North East Fife)

Mike Rumbles (North East Scotland)

Beatrice Wishart (Shetland)

Scottish Green

John Finnie (Highlands and Islands)

Ross Greer (West Scotland)

Patrick Harvie (Glasgow)

Alison Johnstone (Lothian)

Mark Ruskell (Mid Scotland and Fife)


Derek Mackay (Renfrewshire North and West)

Mark McDonald (Aberdeen Donside)

Andy Wightman (Lothian)

Reform UK

Michelle Ballantyne (Scottish Borders)