Scottish Election 2021 results: SNP set for fourth term win but majority hangs in the balance as turnout soars

Counting is well and truly underway in the Scottish parliamentary election as results pour in from constituencies across the country.

Turn out is up compared to 2016, but as votes are still being counted it is unclear on what it will mean for the results.

So far we’ve seen the First Minister win the Glasgow Southside seat by a majority.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Nicola Sturgeon received 19,735 votes, compared to Labour leader Anas Sarwar’s 10,279 – a majority of 9,456.

The SNP have snatched the seat of Ayr from the Scottish Conservatives by just 170 votes.

According to polling expert Professor Sir John Curtice, the Ayr win could be crucial for SNP ambitions for an overall majority.

Siobhan Brown won 18,881 votes, compared to John Scott’s 18,711.

Former SNP MP Angus Robertson won Edinburgh Central from the Scottish Conservatives, with 16,276 votes.

SNP battling to win majority as votes are counted and turnout appears up.SNP battling to win majority as votes are counted and turnout appears up.
SNP battling to win majority as votes are counted and turnout appears up.

The result meant the Tories were pushed into second, on 11,544 votes, with Labour in third on 6,839 votes.

Speaking to the BBC, Angus Robertson said: “I’m absolutely delighted.

“Edinburgh Central is where I’ve grown up so the opportunity to represent all of its communities in the next Scottish Parliament is something which is very close to my heart.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Earlier, the SNP took the seat of East Lothian from Scottish Labour in a huge coup for the party.

Liam McArthurLiam McArthur
Liam McArthur

Paul McLennan took the seat with 17,968 votes - giving him a majority of more than 1,000 over his Labour rival, Martin Whitfield.

Mr Swinney won 49.5 per cent of the vote, a slight increase on 2016 results, he said: “I pledge myself to do all that I can in the next parliamentary term to ensure the interests of the people of Scotland are safeguarded and supported and taken forward to ensure that the people of Scotland have a choice on their future as they should have.”

He beat the Conservatives Murdo Fraser by 19,860 votes to 15,807, with Labour’s Ryan Smart and Liberal Democrat Peter Barrett lagging behind with just over 10 per cent of the vote between them.

SNP Humza Yousaf has also been re-elected in Glasgow Pollok with 18,163 votes.

Kate Forbes, SNP, has been re-elected in Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch, with a huge with a huge majority of more than 15,000 votes.

SNP hold Midlothian North and Musselburgh with Colin Beattie re-elected as MSP.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Liberal Democrat Liam McArthur holds his seat in Orkney, and the SNP’s Jackie Dunbar secure Aberdeen Donside.

Joe Fitzpatrick has also won the Dundee City West seat for the SNP.

The first result came in shortly after midday from Orkney, announcing that Mr McArthur had held his seat, receiving 7,238 votes.

He comfortably beat the SNP candidate Robert Leslie with 3,369, Conservative Sam Brown at 699 and Labour’s Colla Drake who received 290 votes.

Read More
Scottish election 2021 results: This is how the constituency map of Scotland loo...

The second seat declared was Ms Dunbar in Aberdeen Donside, with 18,514 votes ahead of Harriet Cross on 9,488.

Turnout was 58 per cent, above 50.8 per cent in 2016.

The SNP has also held its seat in Banffshire and Buchan Coast, with Karen Adam beating conservative Mark Findlater by just 772 votes.

Other announcements include SNP MSP Alasdair Allan holding his Western Isles seat, winning with a majority of 3,441, and the SNP's Marie McNair winning Clydebank and Milngavie.

Maree Todd of the SNP held onto the seat of Caithness, Sutherland and Ross, fending off a challenge from Molly Nolan of the Lib Dems, and the SNP have also held the seat of Falkirk East.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Michelle Thomson, formerly an MP for the party, won the seat with 18,417 votes.

SNP David Torrance has been re-elected in Kirkcaldy.

SNP also hold Stirling with Evelyn Tweed elected as MSP and Argyll and Bute has been held by SNP Jenni Minto the MSP.

SNP holds Cunninghame North with Kenneth Gibson taking 18,227 against runners-up Conservatives on 10,451.

Lib Dem Alex Cole-Hamilton is re-electied as MSP for Edinburgh Western.

Conservatives hold Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire with Rachael Hamilton being re-elected.

Other Conservative wins include former leader of the party, Jackson Carlaw, for Eastwood.

Jackie Baillie holds onto her 22-year long seat in Dumbarton for Labour with 17,825 votes as SNP challenger receives 16,342.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Annabelle Ewing holds Cowdenbeath for Labour and Daniel Johnson holds onto Edinburgh Southern for Labour.

The vote counting process will take longer than usual this year due to Covid-19 restrictions.

The restrictions also caused an increase in the number of postal votes cast in this election.

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this article. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by coronavirus impacts our advertisers.

If you haven't already, please consider supporting our trusted, fact-checked journalism by taking out a digital subscription.



Want to join the conversation? Please or to comment on this article.