Summer Nights at the Bandstand 2020 postponed with line-up moving to next year

The festival has been a firm favourite for music fans and has consistently sold-out since it was launched in 2013.

Regular Music revealed that the almost sold out ‘Summer Nights at the Bandstand’ in Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow will not be going ahead.

Despite not happening this July and August, fans will be pleased to know that 12 of the 13 acts due to perform this year have signed up to play at next year’s event.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The festival has been a firm favourite for music fans and has consistently sold-out since it was launched in 2013.

Summer Nights at the Bandstand 2020 postponed with line-up moving to next year

Last year, Summer Nights sold over 25,000 tickets and organisers commented that this year they had already sold around that figure.

Mark Mackie, director of Regular Music said earlier: “Ever since it became apparent that we would not be able to stage our annual Summer Nights concert series at Kelvingrove Bandstand, we have been working away to

reschedule the concerts.

“Amazingly, all of the artists want to come next year and most have already been able to confirm their shows, with only one still working on their schedule to be with us.”

The line-up includes; Suzanne Vega, Belinda Carlisle, Rufus Wainwright, Van Morrison, KT Tunstall, Rick Astley, Richard Hawley, Primal Scream, King Creosote, The Jesus & Mary Chain, Edwyn Collins and Altered Images have pledged to return for the 2021 event.

The only act yet to confirm is Cat Stevens who is currently celebrating Ramadan, but organisers are confident in securing him for next year’s show.

The tickets for this year’s concerts will remain valid for the rescheduled shows in 2021 and refunds including booking fees are available for those no longer able to attend.

The new rescheduled dates for Summer Nights at the Bandstand in 2021 are:

Thursday 29 July Suzanne Vega

Friday 30 July Belinda Carlisle

Saturday 31 July Rufus Wainwright

Tuesday 3 Aug Van Morrison (sold out)

Wednesday 4 Aug Yusuf/Cat Stevens (sold out) tbc

Thursday 5 Aug KT Tunstall

Friday 6 Aug Rick Astley (sold out)

Saturday 7 Aug Richard Hawley

Tuesday 10 Aug Primal Scream (sold out)

Wednesday 11 Aug Primal Scream (sold out)

Thursday 12 Aug King Creosote – From Scotland with Love

Friday 13 Aug The Jesus & Mary Chain (sold out)

Saturday 14 Aug Edwyn Collins and Altered Images (sold out)

Tickets for the concerts are available from Ticketmaster HERE