Folklore: Taylor Swift’s surprise new album featuring Bon Iver and Aaron Dessner explained, time it’s out in UK - and full song list

The singer announced the news on her social media platforms, including details of the new album, track list and music video
Fans of the singer were sent into a frenzy when Swift announced her new album (Photo: Neilson Barnard/Getty Images)Fans of the singer were sent into a frenzy when Swift announced her new album (Photo: Neilson Barnard/Getty Images)
Fans of the singer were sent into a frenzy when Swift announced her new album (Photo: Neilson Barnard/Getty Images)

Taylor Swift has announced that she is dropping a new surprise album, which she has poured all of her “whims, dreams, fears, and musings into”.

The album will feature collaborations with the likes of Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Aaron Dessner (The National) and Jack Antonoff.

This is everything we know so far.

What did Taylor Swift say?

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Swift made the announcement on her official Instagram account, first posting nine pictures in the three by three grid that, when viewed as a whole, shows a black and white scene of the singer in the forest.

These pictures have no caption and comments on the posts have been disabled.

Swift then posted a picture of the black and white scene as a whole, with the caption announcing the new album.

She wrote: “Most of the things I had planned this summer didn’t end up happening, but there is something I hadn’t planned on that DID happen. And that thing is my 8th studio album, folklore. Surprise Tonight at midnight I’ll be releasing my entire brand new album of songs I’ve poured all of my whims, dreams, fears, and musings into.

“I wrote and recorded this music in isolation but got to collaborate with some musical heroes of mine; @aarondessner (who has co-written or produced 11 of the 16 songs), @boniver (who co-wrote and was kind enough to sing on one with me), William Bowery (who co-wrote two with me) and @jackantonoff (who is basically musical family at this point). Engineered by Laura Sisk and Jon Low, mixed by Serban Ghenea & Jon Low.

“The album photos were shot by the amazing @bethgarrabrant. Before this year I probably would’ve overthought when to release this music at the ‘perfect’ time, but the times we’re living in keep reminding me that nothing is guaranteed. My gut is telling me that if you make something you love, you should just put it out into the world. That’s the side of uncertainty I can get on board with. Love you guys so much.”

The track list

Folklore will boast 17 songs on the track list, including a bonus track as well.

Swift announced that the track list would go as such:

- The 1

- Cardigan

- The last great American dynasty

- Exile (ft. Bon Iver)

- My tears ricochet

- Mirrorball

- Seven

- August

- This is me trying

- Illicit affairs

- Invisible string

- Mad woman

- Epiphany

- Betty

- Peace

- Hoax

- Bonus track: The lakes

Music video

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Not satisfied with simply dropping an album, Swift also announced that the music video for her song Cardigan, which she wrote and directed, would be premiered.

She wrote: “A million thank you’s to my brilliant, bad ass video team - cinematographer Rodrigo Prieto, producer Jil Hardin, executive producer Rebecca Skinner, AD Joe ‘Oz’ Osbourne, editor Chancler Haynes, special effects wizards David Lebensfeld & Grant Miller, and set designer Ethan Tobman.”

Swift explained that the shoot was overseen by a medical inspector and that everyone wore masks.

“I even did my own hair, makeup and styling,” Swift explains with a laughing emoji.

When can I listen to the album?

Folklore will be released at midnight Eastern time, which translates to 5am in the UK.

Fans of Swift can pre-order the album on her website here.

Related topics: