Wilson’s kicking proves crucial as Heriot’s hold off Hawick

TWO late scores helped new Heriot’s coaches Mark Appleson and Graham Marshall enjoy a winning start to the season.

Marshall, who moved from Selkirk, admitted that for a time in the second half his side was under the cosh. “We lost the place for 25 minutes and allowed Hawick back into it. There were 15 minutes that we did not have the ball,” he said.

Hawick came from 0-11 down at the interval to edge 12-11 ahead with 13 minutes left, but Heriot’s finished strongly and the accuracy of captain Graham Wilson’s kicking proved crucial. The scrum-half banged over four penalties and one conversion to add to tries by Andrew Scott and replacement Saiasi Vono. “I was delighted to get the win and we showed a lot of character to come back,” said Marshall.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Hawick had been outplayed in the first half but found new life after the break and were disappointed to leave empty-handed. “I thought that we did enough to win the game,” said coach Derek Armstrong. “The match was there for the taking.”

However, it was a scrappy contest with mistakes from both sides.

Heriot’s led 11-0 at the interval as Scott scored following Colin Goudie’s break and Wilson kicked two goals.

The game turned when Neil McColm and then Gary Johnstone broke through for tries and Armstrong converted the second. But Hawick gave away points in the final 11 minutes and Vono put the icing on the cake to deny the visitors even a losing bonus point.

Scorers: Heriot’s: Tries, Scott, Vono. Con, Wilson. Pens, Wilson 4.

Hawick: Tries, McColm, Johnstone. Con, Armstrong. Heriot’s: C. Goudie; J Kohn, M Learmonth, C Mark, A Scott; M Goldie, G Wilson; A Dymock, K Bryce, G Cameron, R Martin, CJ Osazuwa, M Reid, J Hill, R Cessford. Subs: S Mustard, JP Ward, M Roy, S Vono, S H-Clyne..

Hawick: N McColm; S Anderson, G Johnstone, G Hogg, G Anderson; L Armstrong, G Cottrell; N Little, L Gibson, S Linton, K Willison, R Hogg, D Landels, B McNeil, K Davies. Subs: R. Sutherland, H Scammell, N Mactaggart, T Manihera, A Turnbull.

Referee: A Macpherson.