Summerside see their way clear to lift Edinburgh Cup

Summerside’S bowlers have capped a promotion-winning season for them by etching their name on the Specsavers Opticians-sponsored Edinburgh Cup after upsetting the formbook with their commanding 9-3 win over Pilrig in the final played at Maitland BC.

“Achieving promotion from Division Three of the Edinburgh Bowling League was our prime ambition this season and winning the Edinburgh Cup was just a fantasy so to be 
celebrating both is as good as it gets,” said team captain Martin Watt.

Facing First Division side 
Pilrig added an extra dimension to the challenge facing Summerside as their ranks contained former Pilrig stars David Poole, Keith Taylor, Mark Robertson, Stuart Ramsay and 
Stuart Christie.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

“To say these guys had fire in their bellies is an understatement and there is no question that since arriving here the drive and ambition they have injected into the Summerside psyche has been of major benefit to the rest of us,” added Watt.

Pilrig came into the final chasing a third Edinburgh Cup title having won the inaugural event in 1998 and celebrating again in 2006 but soon found they weren’t going to lord it over their lower-ranked opponents, for Poole, Taylor and Robertson all skipped their rinks to good wins over their former colleagues while a further 
success for Watt and a peel for Paul Jeromson put the cup 
favourites well and truly to the sword.

Watt set the mood and scene for victory with the team 
captain steaming to a 21-9 win over John Geddes having earlier turned a bowl out for a 5 to skip Neil Nisbet Jr Ross Nisbet and Jim Currie into an 18-9 lead.

Robertson staged a strong recovery from 10-17 to clinch a 20-18 win over Chris Steven having tipped the scales by ditching the jack for a single to 20-17 at the second-last end.

Taylor is a player well up to such challenges and delivered in his own cavalier style with a swashbuckling 4, 3, 3 finish to beat Euan Craig 26-12.

Jeromson was held to a share of the points in an eventful 
17-17 battle with Scott Noble but Mark Wilson just failed to hold Darren McKenny and went down 15-12.

Poole brought the curtain down on the final and the former legend of Pilrig did so in typical winning style as he inflicted 21-10 punishment on his pal Rab Farquhar.