Squash: Players earmarked for national success

The initiative is designed to deliver expert local coaching and fitness training to the best squash players in that area. As part of this they will receive a 90-minute coaching session every week designed to meet their individual needs.

In addition to the specialist coaching and fitness training, the players will also travel to Edinburgh once a month to join in with the National Junior Excellence Programme sessions, which are held at Heriot-Watt University.

This will give the players the best possible chance of being selected for the national squad and chosen for the Scotland team for Glasgow 2014.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The whole programme will be overseen by assistant national coach and former national champion Stuart Crawford.

Performance squads

Highlands & Islands (based at Inverness Tennis & Squash Club): Jamie Henderson (Thurso High School), Fergus Richards (Gordonstoun School), Kirsty Lobban (Fortrose Academy), Gary Beales (Wick High School), Findlay MacDonald (Charleston Academy), Ewan Hearns (Charleston Academy), Greg Lobban, Ewen Urquhart.

Grampian (based at Aberdeen Sports Village): Rosie Allan (Montrose Academy), Chris Leiper, Richard Hollins (both Aberdeen Grammar School), Andrew Forbes (Mackie Academy), Sam Allan.

Tayside & Fife (based at Bell's Sports Centre): David Jones (High School of Dundee), Calum Johnston (Inverkeithing High School), Elspeth Young (Kinross High School), Jack Hogg (Perth High School), David Beaumont (St Columba's High School), Craig Valente-Wallace (Madras College), Adrian Oliveira (Perth High School), Rebecca McKerchar (Perth High School), Tino MacKay-Palacios(Milnathort Primary School).

Central (based at Strathearn Community Campus): Rory Stewart (Crieff High School), Claire Gadsby, Sean Gadsby (Crieff High School), Andrew Roberts (Dollar Academy), Jack Orr (Crieff Primary School).

West of Scotland (based at Whitecraigs Lawn Tennis Club): Jason Lang (Glennifer High School), Harry Anderson (Williamwood High School), James Wilson, Ben Mazzucco (both Glasgow Academy), William Anderson (Carolside Primary School), Mhairi Charlton, Morgan McGuire.

East of Scotland (based at Edinburgh Sports Club): Carrie Hallam (Mary Erskine School), Gregor Vincent (Linlithgow Academy), Michael Jenkins (George Watson's College) Douglas Kempsell.