Wales v Scotland: Change at inside centre as Sam Johnson is released back to Glasgow Warriors

Sam Johnson has been left out of the Scotland squad for Saturday’s Guinness Six Nations match against Wales in Cardiff.

Sam Johnson started for Scotland in the 20-17 win over England.  (Photo by Ross Parker / SNS Group)
Sam Johnson started for Scotland in the 20-17 win over England. (Photo by Ross Parker / SNS Group)

The inside centre will instead play for Glasgow Warriors against Munster in the United Rugby Championship at Scotstoun on Friday night.

Johnson started for Scotland in the Calcutta Cup win over England and was replaced by Glasgow team-mate Sione Tuipulotu after an hour.

Hide Ad

Tuipulotu now comes into contention to start against Wales, although Cam Redpath is also in the frame.

Hide Ad

Gregor Townsend, the Scotland head coach, is due to name his team at 12.15pm.

Scott Cummings and Rufus McLean have also been released from the Scotland camp to play for Glasgow on Friday.

Hide Ad
Read More
England's Joe Marler opens up on decisive Murrayfield moment left him 'feeling l...

Warriors are currently third in the URC standings, two points ahead of fifth-placed Munster who have a game in hand.

Hide Ad

Danny Wilson, the Glasgow head coach, will miss the game after testing positive for Covid-19 and attack coach Nigel Carolan will take charge.

Johnson, Cummings and McLean are part of a strong Glasgow team which includes fellow Scotland internationals George Horne, Duncan Weir, Oli Kebble, Fraser Brown, Simon Berghan, Richie Gray and Ryan Wilson.

Hide Ad

Glasgow team (v Munster, URC, Scotstoun, Friday, 8.15pm. TV: live on Premier Sports)

15. Ollie Smith

Hide Ad

14. Sebastian Cancelliere

13. Robbie Fergusson

Hide Ad

12. Sam Johnson

11. Rufus McLean

Hide Ad

10. Duncan Weir

9. George Horne

Hide Ad

1. Oli Kebble

2. Fraser Brown (cc)

Hide Ad

3. Simon Berghan

4. Scott Cummings

Hide Ad

5. Richie Gray

6 Ryan Wilson (cc)

Hide Ad

7. Thomas Gordon

8. Jack Dempsey

Hide Ad


16. Johnny Matthews

Hide Ad

17. Nathan McBeth

18. Enrique Pieretto

Hide Ad

19. Kiran McDonald

20. Ally Miller

Hide Ad

21. Jamie Dobie

22. Domingo Miotti

Hide Ad

23. Stafford McDowall



Want to join the conversation? Please or to comment on this article.