Scotland Six Nations squad: Andy Robinson calls on Dan Parks

GLASGOW Warriors stand-off Dan Parks has been recalled to the Scotland squad for their Six Nations matches against France and Wales.

He is joined by uncapped clubmates Ruriadh Jackson and Richie Gray in the 30 man squad.

Parks, who will leave Warriors for Cardiff Blues at the end of the season, had been out of favour and missed selection for the autumn internationals but forced his way back into the reckoning with a succession of strong performances in recent weeks.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Jackson recently recovered from a serious shoulder injury and will contest the stand-off jersey with Parks.

Lock forward Gray is just 20-years-old but has made a huge impact for Glasgow in his breakthrough season.

There is no place for in-form Edinburgh centre Ben Cairns or Ospreys winger Nikki Walker.

Speaking at the announcement of his first RBS Six Nations squad since his appointment as Scotland head coach, Andy Robinson said: "Richie Gray has worked hard to win a place in the squad and has applied himself consistently when playing for Glasgow, and we were also pleased to see Ruaridh back in action there.

"Dan has been playing well and it's an asset for us to have someone of his ability in the squad."

Co-captain Mike Blair misses out on a place the main squad as he recovers from an ankle injury but is one of four players who will train with the squad at next week's four-day camp at St Andrews.

The others are Jim Thompson – the uncapped grandson of the late Bill McLaren – Ross Rennie and Jon Welsh.

Rory Lamont could join brother Sean in the squad if he emerges unscathed from a match for his club side, Toulon, next Wednesday.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Scotland squad for RBS 6 Nations games against France and Wales:


Chris Cusiter (Glasgow), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Max Evans (Glasgow), Thom Evans (Glasgow), Phil Godman (Edinburgh), Alex Grove (Worcester), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow), Dan Parks (Glasgow), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh), Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais).


John Barclay (Glasgow), Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow), Kelly Brown (Glasgow), Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Richie Gray (Glasgow), Dougie Hall (Glasgow), Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh), Nathan Hines (Leinster), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Moray Low (Glasgow), Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh), Euan Murray (Northampton), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester).

Invited to train with the squad at St Andrews (January 25-28): Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), Jim Thompson (Edinburgh), Jon Welsh (Glasgow).