Scotland announce team to play Australia in autumn Test

Props Zander Fagerson and Alan Dell will make their first starts for Scotland in Saturday's Test match against Australia at BT Murrayfield.

Zander Fagerson will make his first start for Scotland against Australia. Picture: SNS

Glasgow tighthead Fagerson has won one cap off the bench previously but Edinburgh loosehead Dell will be getting his first taste of international rugby.

The inexperienced pair will be joined in the front row by the vastly experienced hooker Ross Ford, who wins his 100th cap.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

He follows in the footsteps of Scotland’s two other cap centurions in the men’s game, record cap holder Chris Paterson (109) and Sean Lamont (105).

Scotland coach Vern Cotter has picked a centre pairing of Alex Dunbar and Huw Jones, with Peter Horne on the bench. There is no Mark Bennett in the squad and Tommy Seymour is absent due to personal reasons.

In-form Edinburgh openside flanker Hamish Watson is preferred to his clubmate John Hardie, who takes his place on the bench.

Glasgow scrum-half Ali Price is also on the bench rather than Henry Pyrgos.

Scotland team to play Australia at BT Murrayfield Stadium (kick-off 2.30pm)

15 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors)

14 Sean Maitland (Saracens)

13 Huw Jones (Stormers)

12 Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors)

11 Tim Visser (Harlequins)

10 Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors)

9 Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN (Gloucester)

1 Allan Dell (Edinburgh Rugby)

2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby)

3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)

4 Richie Gray (Toulouse)

5 Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)

6 John Barclay (Scarlets)

7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby)

8 Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors)


16 Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors)

17 Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors)

18 Moray Low (Exeter Chiefs)

19 Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby)

20 John Hardie (Edinburgh Rugby)

21 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)

22 Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors)

23 Rory Hughes (Glasgow Warriors)