Rugby: Scotland 7s and Tens squads announced

Scotland 7s head coach Stephen Gemmell has split his extended 7s squad, naming who will play in the Hong Kong 7s from Friday to Sunday and the HKFC Tens today and tomorrow.

Colin Gregor will captain the squad for the sixth leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series this weekend and the squad has a familiar look. Gemmell said: “We have chosen to keep the 12 players for the World Series event as close to the team that played in the last two tournaments, with the addition of Kelso’s Darren Gillespie in place of Scott Riddell.”

Scotland will open their Hong Kong 7s campaign against Portugal at 9.28am (UK time) on Friday. They will then play on Saturday, against Samoa at 2.28am and England at 11.16am.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Kiwi Craig Hammond is the player/coach of the 16-man Scottish Barbarians squad for the two-day HKFC Tens, which starts today. Gemmell added: “For the tens players this is a fantastic opportunity to compete in an international tournament and garner valuable experience.”

Scotland 7s: Andrew Turnbull, Chris Dean, Colin Gregor, Colin Shaw, Darren Gillespie (Kelso), James Fleming, James Johnstone (Glasgow), Mark Robertson, Michael Fedo, Michael Maltman, Russell Weir, Struan Dewar.

Scottish Barbarians: Alex Baddeley (Hong Kong Scottish), Alex Glashan (Scotland 7s), Callum Anderson (Melrose), Chris Mason (Hong Kong Scottish), Craig Hammond (Hong Kong Scottish), Jack Ferguson (Watsonians), Joe Nabou (Hong Kong Scottish), Joe Nayacavou (Doncaster), Lewis Young (Scotland 7s), Liam Steele (Stewart’s-Melville FP), Matt Stockdale (Hong Kong Scottish), Ryan Meacheam (Hong Kong Scottish).