Pro players allocated clubs in draft for new season

The Scottish Rugby Union has announced the BT Premiership draft picks for the new club season which kicks off on Saturday.

Ayr have drafted Scotland centre Mark Bennett for the new season. Picture: Jane Barlow
Ayr have drafted Scotland centre Mark Bennett for the new season. Picture: Jane Barlow

Based on their 2015/16 league position, each club took its turn to draft the 94 players from Scotland’s pro teams – Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh – and Scotland sevens squad members.

Players will be made available to BT Premiership clubs each week, dependent on the selection of pro team squads.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Nick Rennie, Scottish Rugby’s head of club services, said: “Scottish Rugby continually looks to strengthen ties between the BT Premiership and the professional game to offer playing options for both developing and established players in the top tier of the club game.

“The continued drafting of professional players will see BT Premiership, pro teams and Scotland 7s working closer together with pro-players and will help to develop the already high standard of rugby in the BT Premiership.”

BT Premiership pro-player draft:


Kevin Bryce (Edinburgh), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh), Jack Gosgrove (Edinburgh), Will Helu (Edinburgh), Tom Brown (Edinburgh), Duncan Weir (Edinburgh), James Fleming (Scotland sevens), James Johnstone (Scotland sevens).


Nathan Fowles (Edinburgh), Mike Allan (Edinburgh), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh), Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh), Sam Hildalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh), Nick McLennan (Scotland sevens), Gavin Lowe (Scotland sevens).


Nick Beavon (Edinburgh), Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh), Simon Bergham (Edinburgh), Allan Dell (Edinburgh), 
Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Anton Bresler (Edinburgh), Scott Wight (Scotland sevens), Phil Burleigh (Edinburgh).


George Turner (Edinburgh), Fraser McKenzie (Edinburgh), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh), Glenn Bryce (Edinburgh), Junior Rasolea (Edinburgh), Cornell Du Preez (Edinburgh), Dougie Fife (Scotland sevens), John Hardie (Edinburgh).


Sasa Tofilau (Edinburgh), Alex Northam (Edinburgh), Chris Dean (Edinburgh), Rory Scholes (Edinburgh), Nasi Manu (Edinburgh), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Al Dickinson (Edinburgh), WP Nel (Edinburgh).


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh), Vili Fihaki (Edinburgh), Neil Cochrane (Edinburgh), Sean Kennedy (Edinburgh), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh), Jason Tovey (Edinburgh), Jamie Farndale (Scotland sevens), Mark Robertson (Scotland sevens), Scott Riddell (Scotland sevens).

Stirling County

Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Hughes (Glasgow), Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), Fraser Lyle (Glasgow Warriors), Nernia Kenatale (Glasgow Warriors), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Sila Puafisi (Glasgow Warriors), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Corey Flynn (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Fusaro (Glasgow Warriors).

Glasgow Hawks

Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Tijuee Uanivi (Glasgow Warriors) Greg Peterson (Glasgow Warriors), Junior Bulumakau (Glasgow Warriors), Peter Murchie (Glasgow Warriors), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Peter Horne 
(Glasgow Warriors), Sean Lamont 
(Glasgow Warriors), Grayson Hart 
(Glasgow Warriors), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors).


Jarrod Firth (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Clegg (Glasgow Warriors), Richie Vernon (Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors), Simone Favaro (Glasgow Warriors), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors), Josh Strauss (Glasgow Warriors), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors).


James Malcolm (Glasgow Warriors), D’arcy Rae (Glasgow Warriors), Djustice Sears-Duru (Glasgow Warriors), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors), Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors), Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors), Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors), Leonardo Sarto (Glasgow Warriors), Pat MacArthur (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors).