Glasgow name team: Adam Hastings dropped; Stuart Hogg returns

Glasgow stand-off Adam Hastings has been dropped to the bench for Sunday's crucial Heineken Champions Cup clash with Cardiff Blues at Scotstoun as Scotland full-back Stuart Hogg makes his return from a hip injury.

Glasgow Warriors' Adam Hastings. Picture: SNS

Warriors coach Dave Rennie has handed the No 10 jersey to Brandon Thomson, with Pete Horne ruled out with a knee injury. It presents a big-game opportunity for 23-year-old South African Thomson, who was man of the match in the Pro14 win over Scarlets early last month before giving way with the return of the Scotland internationals.

He came off the bench at Benetton last week, as Hastings’ post-autumn form struggles continued, and missed a late penalty as Glasgow lost 20-17.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Rennie said: “Obviously the last three weeks have been disappointing, but we’ve created a lot of opportunities in those games and just haven’t been as clinical as we’ve needed to be and the quality of our decision making hasn’t been good enough.

“It’s hurt us but there’s no sense of panic, we need to be sharper and we know this is a massive game for us in the context of Europe and we’ve picked the side accordingly.”

Rob Harley will become the first player in Glasgow Warriors history to reach a double century of appearances, while co-captain Ryan Wilson plays for the club for a 150th time.

Glasgow Warriors team to play Cardiff Blues in the Heineken Champions Cup, Scotstoun, Sunday, 3.15pm (Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets)

1. Oli Kebble (23)

2. Grant Stewart (15)

3. D’Arcy Rae (55)

4. Rob Harley (199)

5. Scott Cummings (47)

6. Ryan Wilson (CC) (149)

7. Callum Gibbins (CC) (29)

8. Matt Fagerson (38)

9. Ali Price (68)

10. Brandon Thomson (16)

11. DTH van der Merwe (111)

12. Sam Johnson (44)

13. Nick Grigg (52)

14. Tommy Seymour (125)

15. Stuart Hogg (113)


16. Kevin Bryce (19)

17. Alex Allan (83)

18. Petrus du Plessis (5)

19. Tim Swinson (119)

20. Chris Fusaro (156)

21. George Horne (33)

22. Adam Hastings (22)

23. Lee Jones (81)

Players unavailable through injury: Fraser Brown (knee), Alex Dunbar (thigh), Zander Fagerson (ankle), Jonny Gray (shoulder), Siua Halanukonuka (calf), Pete Horne (knee), Niko Matawalu (illness), Robbie Nairn (knee) and George Turner (ankle).