'Completely accidental; it's just instinct' - Pundits react to Finn Russell red card

Co-commentators Chris Paterson and Benjamin Kayser both offered sympathetic views on Scotland fly-half Finn Russell’s red card after 72 minutes of the Six Nations finale in Paris against France.

Finn Russell was red-carded during Scotland's Six Nations match with France in Paris
Finn Russell was red-carded during Scotland's Six Nations match with France in Paris

The Racing 92 stand-off was dismissed by referee Wayne Barnes following a TMO review after catching France full-back Brice Dulin in the neck.

While there was no malice in the challenge the fact it was contact with the neck, with force and without mitigation, meant Russell was sent packing.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Former France hooker Kayser, summarising on BBC One’s coverage, felt Dulin had left himself open to the challenge.

He said: “I think it’s completely accidental, but Dulin also went in high with the tackle – he could have gone for the legs. He exposed himself.”

Paterson, who won 109 caps for Scotland, added: “The only deliberation is, where is the point of contact?

"Finn’s elbow was certainly on the chest but further up the hand was close to the neck. Its just instinct; it's not foul play.”

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this article. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by Coronavirus impacts our advertisers.

If you haven't already, please consider supporting our trusted, fact-checked journalism by taking out a digital subscription.

 0 comments

Want to join the conversation? Please or to comment on this article.