Lineen calls on Glasgow to ‘stand up and be counted’

Glasgow Warriors tackle top-of-the-table Leinster in the RaboDirect Pro12 today with a side showing four changes.

Fourth-placed Glasgow drew with Connacht in their last outing, but are denied the services of Graeme Morrison this evening as the centre is set to start Scotland’s RBS Six Nations clash with France tomorrow.

Alex Dunbar takes Morrison’s place with Troy Nathan moving to inside centre, while Colin Shaw comes on to the wing in place of Tommy Seymour, who has been named among the replacements for the Firhill clash.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Tighthead prop Mike Cusack is set to make his first appearance since New Year’s Day after recovering from an ankle injury, while Nick Campbell is poised to start at lock in the two further changes. Blindside flanker Rob Harley will captain the side, who are seeking a first double over Leinster and an eighth victory in nine home encounters in all competitions.

European champions Leinster, who twice beat the Warriors in Heineken Cup competition this season, have won 17 and drawn one of their last 18 games since losing to Glasgow in Dublin last September.

Glasgow head coach Sean Lineen said: “Three of our next four games are at home, and it’s vital we exploit that to our advantage. Leinster have a big squad with top players right throughout it. Their rugby is the definition of relentless and they punish every mistake.

“This is another day for standing up and being counted so that we continue to stake a strong claim for a place in the top four.”

Leinster also named their team yesterday. Isa Nacewa, who has now scored 105 points in 12 Pro12 games so far this season, continues in the back three alongside Fionn Carr and David Kearney, with Brendan Macken resuming his centre partnership with Colm O’Shea who started the 42-8 victory over Benetton Treviso two weeks ago.

At half-back, Ireland international Isaac Boss again partners Ian Madigan who is the tournament’s second top try scorer this season with six.

Heinke van der Merwe joins Richardt Strauss and Nathan White in the front row with Mullingar second row Mark Flanagan set to line up alongside Damian Browne at lock. Shane Jennings leads the team and is joined by Dominic Ryan and Leo Auva’a in the back row.