Jim Furyk and Matt Kuchar take PGA prizes

Jim Furyk and fellow American Matt Kuchar made the most of a forgettable year for Tiger Woods by landing the leading honours on the 2010 PGA Tour.

Rock-steady Furyk triumphed three times during the season to earn his first PGA Player of the Year award while Kuchar headed the official money-list and also the scoring averages.

Kuchar was a model of consistency, recording 11 top-10 finishes in 26 starts to end his campaign with overall earnings of $4,910,477 and an adjusted scoring average of 69.61.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

"For me to go from a guy that just wanted to keep his card a few years ago, to winning the Byron Nelson and Arnold Palmer Awards is pretty overwhelming," said Kuchar.

"It will be tough to follow this year up. You can go out and shoot a 62 but it's hard to follow up that 62 the next day with another great round. That's how I'm looking at next year. It will be quite a challenge."

Like Kuchar, Furyk took advantage of Woods's woes as he won the prestigious PGA Player of the Year award after the first 'three-win' season of his career.

This is only the third time in 12 years that Woods has not landed PGA Player of the Year honours. First won by Ben Hogan in 1948, the award is given to the top PGA Tour player based on a points system for tournament wins, official money standings and scoring averages.