How the axe has fallen in the SPL's sack race

ONLY four SPL managers remain in position since the final day of last season: Walter Smith at Rangers, Gus MacPherson at St Mirren, Billy Reid at Hamilton and Derek McInnes at St Johnstone. Here are the eight clubs who have changed their men in the dug -out:


Jimmy Calderwood was sacked by Stewart Milne at the end of last season, despite leading his team to fourth place in the SPL and a place in the Europa League. Motherwell manager Mark McGhee was his successor.


Gordon Strachan stepped down as manager at the end of the season after Rangers pipped Celtic for the league title. Strachan, who is now in charge at Middlesbrough, was replaced by West Bromwich Albion manager Tony Mowbray.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Craig Levein couldn't resist an invitation to lead Scotland in the Euro 2012 qualifiers, and resigned from his post at Tannadice in December to take over the reins at Hampden. His assistant Peter Houston has been placed in charge for the rest of the season.


Eddie May took over at the beginning of this season when John Hughes left for Hibs. Six months later Falkirk are rooted to the bottom of the league and May's resignation was announced yesterday.


Despite only being in charge for 18 months, Csaba Laszlo was Hearts' longest reigning manager under Vladimir Romanov. The club have struggled to find form this season and he was sacked and replaced by Jim Jefferies.


Former Hibs striker Mixu Paatelainen resigned during the close season. He was replaced by another former Easter Road player, John Hughes who quit Falkirk.


Manager Jim Jefferies left by mutual consent in January after eight years in charge. Jimmy Calderwood is to be manager until the end of the season.


Jim Gannon's brief stint came to an end in late December after a breakdown between the board of directors and his coaching staff. Former Scotland manager Craig Brown has taken charge until the end of the season.