Scottish golf amalgamation bid ‘confusing’

SCOTTISH golf’s amalgamation bid is “threatening to be a mess again”.

Lothians president Alistair Bisset. Picture: Ian Rutherford

The claim was made by Duddingston delegate Alan Grosset at last night’s Lothians Golf Association annual meeting at Newbattle. The proposal to amalgamate the Scottish Golf Union and the Scottish Ladies Golfing Association was tabled just over three years ago.

It was expected to see the two governing bodies come together as one under the name of Scottish Golf Ltd from October 1, 2011.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

But, two-and-a-half years after the SGU failed to secure the support it needed, discussions are still ongoing.

Grosset, a past Duddingston captain, supports the proposal and asked Lothians president Alistair Bisset for an update.

Bisset said a progress report had been sent to clubs but was unable to provide any more information than provided in it or on the SGU website.

“It is quite difficult to find on the website,” replied Grosset. “And, when I did find it, it is not only confusing but also seems a long way from achieving the democracy set out in the terms.” He added: “I am concerned that this thing is threatening to be a mess again.”

The delegates were told the Lothians Golf Association wrote to Craig earlier this year outlining some thoughts on the matter. They included a proposal for the men’s Areas and ladies’ Counties to be replaced by Regions, a move taking place in one stage rather than the two-step process being considered.

According to a Lothians spokesman on the amalgamation bid, the proposed voting structure of Scottish Golf is also still causing concern.

“Clubs will have one vote per club while men’s Areas and ladies’ Counties will each have ten votes,” he told the meeting.

“This would mean the Lothians, the largest of the Areas in Scotland, would have the same number of votes as one of the smaller Areas.”

Craigmillar Park’s Bob Kilgour was appointed as new Lothians Honorary President.