No selection snub for Scotland in St Andrews Trophy

IT WAS a good news day for Scottish amateur golf. One to put a smile back on faces after last year’s Walker Cup embarrassment as no Scottish players were picked.

The Great Britain & Ireland squad for the St Andrews Trophy includes five Scots. Picture: Getty

The first Great Britain & Ireland squad since then, for the St Andrews Trophy, includes five Scots. Almost simultaneously, three of those players were also selected in Europe’s Palmer Cup team.

Craigielaw’s Grant Forrest, Scotland’s top-ranked amateur, is one of those doubling up, the others being James Ross (Royal Burgess) and Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock (Barassie)). Included along with them in the 21-strong St Andrews Trophy squad are Bradley Neil (Blairgowrie) and Ewan Scott (St Andrews).

Sign up to our daily newsletter

“We have announced a strong squad for this year’s match,” said GB&I captain Nigel Edwards of the group he expects to be the main contenders to take on the Continent of Europe at Barsebäck in Sweden on 29-30 August.

Forrest, McDonald and Ross will all be making their debuts in the Palmer Cup, the college equivalent of the Ryder Cup, and will have Andrew Coltart as the European team’s captain at Walton Heath on 26-28 June. “I believe we have a very strong team despite some guys turning pro,” said Coltart. “We are up against a very strong American team and it’s going to be interesting to see who adapts to the heathland conditions the best.

“Obviously there is a strong Scottish contingent this time. James Ross, who qualified automatically, Grant Forrest, who just finished outside the automatic spots but winning three Division 1 college tournaments was too good a performance to ignore, and Jack McDonald, who is playing better than ever, have all justified their inclusion.

“I’m confident the match will be a match played in a very competitive spirit of which Mr Palmer will be proud.”


St Andrews Trophy

Tomasz Anderson (England), Ashley Chesters (England),

Greg Eason (England), Ryan Evans (England), Matthew Fitzpatrick (England), Grant Forrest (Scotland), Sam Horsfield (England), Paul Howard (England), Jack Hume (Ireland), Gary Hurley (Ireland), Nick Marsh (England), Jimmy Mullen (England), Gavin Moynihan (Ireland), Jack McDonald (Scotland), Dermot McElroy (Ireland), Bradley Neil (Scotland), Rhys Pugh (Wales), James Ross (Scotland), Ewan Scott (Scotland), Jordan Smith (England), Ben Taylor (England)

Palmer Cup

Toon Rahm (Spain), Ricardo Gouveia (Portugal), Erik Oja (Sweden), Thomas Detry (Belgium), Pep Angles (Spain), James Ross (Scotland), Paul Dunne (Ireland), Grant Forrest ( Scotland), Louis Tomlinson (England), Jack McDonald (Scotland)