Golf Writers Trophy goes to Rory McIlroy

RORY McIlroy is already guaranteed to pick up one prize at Muirfield next summer after being awarded the Golf Writers Trophy for 2012.

The world No 1, whose five wins this year included a second major in the shape of a runaway success in the USPGA Championship at Kiawah Island, will receive the coveted award at the Association of Golf Writers’ dinner during the week of the Open Championship in East Lothian.

“The 2012 season was a superb one for every aspect of European golf and that comes across when you look at the names of the players in contention for the Golf Writers Trophy this year – therefore to come out on top of that list is a great honour,” said McIlroy. “Throughout the year, wherever we play, the golf writers are there helping to promote our sport and give a voice to golf and, therefore, I am delighted to win their award. I hope to give them plenty more good things to write about in 2013.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The 23-year-old topped the annual poll ahead of Europe’s Ryder Cup team, Ian Poulter, Roger Chapman and the Great Britain and Ireland Curtis Cup team, with Paul Lawrie also among those to receive votes.

Voted on by members of the AGW and dating back to 1951, the award recognises the most outstanding achievements during the year of golfers born or resident in Europe and of 
European teams.