Playing alongside Joel Dahmen in the final round of the TPC Potamac, there was a 25-minute delay as the players and an official tried to determine the correct place for a drop ball. The American refuted assertions that Kang’s ball had crossed a lateral hazard at the tenth hole and was annoyed when the rules official allowed the Korean to drop his ball closer to the hole. The 31-year-old saved par, finished third and booked his entry into this week’s Open.
That night Dahmen took to Twitter and, referring to the incident, said: “Kang cheated. He took a bad drop from a hazard. I argued until I was blue. I lost.”
In a statement issued by the PGA Tour on his behalf, Kang said he stood by the ruling and his stance has not altered in the interim.
Wrapping up an opening round 2-under 69 at Carnoustie yesterday he revealed that the accusations had made him “mad” but he insisted he would not change a thing. “I followed the rules by the rules official,” he said. I didn’t want to say anything bad about Joel because there can be different opinions. But the way he just said it on Twitter was not right. I wanted to defend my side and say something, but I asked a lot of advice and the other guys on Tour said, ‘Don’t respond to it and it will go away’. Whatever I say, some people are going to trust it, and some people are not going to trust it. I have to just focus on my golf game.”