Golf: The Bel tolls

CAPITAL clubs are being encouraged to give their members a chance to become national champions by taking part in this year’s Belhaven Best Scottish Club Handicap Championship.

It has been won by Dunbar (2001), Harrison (2007), and Whitekirk (2008). Bathgate’s Colin McGarry and Alan Aitken lifted the title last year at Fairmont St Andrews.

It is staging the final again this year, with Capital clubs set to feature in either the South qualifier at Eyemouth (August 17) or the East event at Scotscraig (September 7).