World Cup Prize Money 2022: Here's when the World Cup final is, how much the winners get, and why it's a special day for Qatar

It’s proved to be politically controversial, but now the World Cup is approaching the quarter-final stage minds are starting to turn to the match that will finish the festival of sport.

A total of 32 countries, from five football confederations, set out to win the 2022 FIFA World Cup – and now only eight remain.

Eight stadiums (six in the capital Doha) are currently in the middle of hosting 64 games of football featuring the world’s greatest players.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

It will all end in one game of 90 minutes (or 120 minutes if extra time is required) to crown the winners of the most famous trophy in sport.

Here’s when we’ll find out who is champion of the world – and where the game will be held.

When will the 2022 World Cup Final be played?

The World Cup Final will be played on Sunday, December 18, at 3pm BST (6pm in Doha).

It will be the last game of the tournament, following the semi-finals on December 13 and 14.

The Qatar World Cup will reach its conclusion in December.

Should the match be tied after 90 minutes there will be 30 minutes of extra time played, followed by penalties if required.

Why is it a special day for Qatar?

As well as being the date of the World Cup Final, December 18 is also Qatar National Day - a national commemoration of Qatar's unification in 1878.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

First held in 2007 and also known as Founder’s Day, it is a national holiday when most members of the public and schools enjoy a day off.

Events traditionally held include a fireworks show and National Day parade in Doha, a classic car show featuring the government’s collection of automobiles, and heritage-themed events at Katara Cultural Village.

Where will the 2022 World Cup Final be played?

The final will be played at the Lusail Iconic Stadium in Lusail, around 10 miles north of the city centre of Doha.

The stadium was built to host the final and is hosting nine other games in the tournament – six in the group stage and three in the knockout stages.

It was designed by British firm Foster + Partners and Populous, is cooled using solar power, and has a capacity of 88,966.

What is the prize money?

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The winning team in the World Cup this year will win $42million, while the runners up receive $30million, followed by $27million for third, $25million for fourth.

Quarter finalists get $17million and round of 16 qualifiers $13million, while every team is guaranteed $9million for turning up.



Want to join the conversation? Please or to comment on this article.