Under-19s prove a class apart even with ten men

Cavalry Park won the SERYFA under-19s Section A League Cup after beating Lochend YFC 5-1 at New Dundas Park, Bonnyrigg, writes JONATHAN McINTOSH.

Despite playing the 
majority of the match with ten men, Cavalry Park were able to run 
out clear winners, 
and completed their 
successful season with 
a sixth trophy.

Stewart Adams scored a hat-trick for Cavalry Park after goalkeeper Andrew Mackay was sent off in the first half.

Sign up to our Football newsletter

Sign up to our Football newsletter

Cavalry Park took the lead in the 19th minute. Christopher Barron executed a perfect chipped through ball to Kris McLoughlin, who poked the ball past Young into the net.

The scores were levelled in the 29th minute after a defensive mix-up allowed Lochend to score. O’Hara’s headed back pass went over the head of Mackay, who pulled back Conor Scott to deny the goal.

The Cavalry Park goalkeeper was subsequently sent off. Replacement goalkeeper Fraser Andrews first job was to pick the ball out of the net after Scott powered his penalty into the top left corner.

The dismissal of Mackay appeared to galvanise the Cavalry troops. In the 35th minute, Barron headed the ball over the bar from inside the six yard box.

Cavalry Park took the lead in first half stoppage time. Greg Douglas raced past defender Andrew Keighren and unleashed a powerful shot into the roof of the net. They grabbed a third goal before the half time whistle blew when Adams’ shot from 22 yards rolled into the bottom left corner.

Adams scored his second goal four minutes later. He dribbled round the keeper before rolling the ball into the centre of the net. He completed his hat-trick before full time when a powerful shot from the right of the area found the net.

Cavalry Park coach James Maloney said: “We have played 55 games this season and the adrenaline helped the lads pull through. It was a tremendous effort by all 21 players throughout the whole season. To win six trophies out of eight is phenomenal.”

Cavalry Park: Andrew Mackay, Chris Joyce, Dale O’Hara, Lyle Finney, Greg Douglas, Christopher Barron, Stewart Adams, Sean Guiney, Kris McLoughlin, Steven MacGregor, Fraser McKinlay, Steven Handran, Jack McIntosh, Michael Park, Johnny Malcolm, Fraser Andrews, Craig Cockburn, Liam Tomassi

Lochend YFC: Callum Young, Alan Murray, Conor Scott, Ross Grant, Lewis Smith, Scott Laidlaw, Jonathon Robertson,Selos Sfyris,David Ireland, Andrew Keighren, Kevin Hamilton, Frazer Notman, Mark Heard, Scott Fergus, Conor Inglis.