Referee told Hearts' Christophe Berra St Johnstone penalty was '˜clear as day'

Hearts captain Christophe Berra revealed today that referee Andrew Dallas told him contact was '˜clear as day' for St Johnstone's penalty equaliser on Wednesday night.

Matty Kennedy scored from the spot after Dallas penalised Hearts midfielder Peter Haring in a challenge with St Johnstone substitute Liam Gordon.

Video replays showed no contact, but Berra spoke to the referee and was assured there was.

Hide Ad

“It’s pathetic,” complained the Scotland defender. “I spoke to the referee and he said: ‘It’s clear as day’. I’m sure our media guys will put the video up and we will see.

Hearts' Christophe Berra in action against St Johnstone. Pic: SNS
Hide Ad

“He just falls down and the ball is going away from goal. Our player controls it at the edge of the box.

“I need to watch what I say but it is infuriating after getting an offside goal against us at the weekend [against Rangers].

Hide Ad

“Don’t get me wrong, we aren’t the only team it happens to.”

Berra added that even slight contact cannot be avoided in football.

Hide Ad

“Are you not allowed body contact in the box, seriously?” he questioned.

“You just fall down and it’s a penalty.

Hide Ad

“The ref was 30 yards away. Did he give it, or the linesman?

“It’s the same things.

Hide Ad

“I know it’s the toughest job but give yourself a chance.”