Which SPFL players will leave at the end of their contract - Hibs, Ross Coutny and St Johnstone latest to confirm player exits

The players who are set to leave their club at the end of their contract

The situation in Scottish football is becoming clear as clubs release a raft of players ahead of an uncertain summer.

Dunfermline Athletic hit the headlines when they confirmed that 17 players would be leaving after the club revealed they are not in a position to offer new deals without knowing then they would be playing again in front of fans.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Pars chairman Ross McArthur told the Daily Mail: “The truth is that I have no certainty at all in terms of when we will be playing football again.

Andy Halliday and Stephen O'Donnell will be on the lookout for new clubs. Picture: SNSAndy Halliday and Stephen O'Donnell will be on the lookout for new clubs. Picture: SNS
Andy Halliday and Stephen O'Donnell will be on the lookout for new clubs. Picture: SNS

“We are looking at a broad range of dates and some of the boys could land up at other clubs in the Championship who are direct competitors. But that's just a risk that I have to take.”

Kilmarnock midfielder Gary Dicker has spoken about the guilt at being kept on while so many players are being freed.

With more clarity, clubs will be able to start looking ahead to next season and signing players but that doesn’t seem certain in the coming days.

Players which clubs have confirmed will exit at the end of their contact or return to their parent team:

Dundee United: Osman Sow, Paul Watson, Sam Wardrop, Rakish Bingham, Fraser Currid, Josh Donaldson, Alassan Jones, Michael McArthur.

Dunfermline Athletic: Lee Ashcroft, Tom Beadling, Danny Devine, Paul Paton, Ryan Scully, Joe Thomson, Andy Ryan, Callum Smith, Stuart Morrison, Gregor Jordan, Scott Cusick, Cammy Graham, Lewis Sawers, Josh Robertson, Lewis Crosbie, Craig Burt and Paul Brown.

Hibs: Vykintas Slivka, Adam Bogdan, Steven Whittaker.

Kilmarnock: Harry Bunn, Adam Frizzell, Stephen Hendrie, Jan Koprivec, Devlin Mackay, Stephen O’Donnell, Iain Wilson. Loan end: Laurentiu Branescu, Dario Del Fabro, Harvey St Clair, Connor Johnson, Niko Hamalainen

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Rangers: Andy Halliday, Wes Foderingham, Jason Holt, Jon Flanagan, Jak Alnwick, Jordan Rossiter.

Ross County: Lewis Spence, Sean Kelly, Declan McManus, Richard Foster, Tommy Dixon-Hodge, Jack Murray, James Wallace, Declan Hughes, Joel MacBeath, Gregor MacDonald, Jack Grant, Thomas Brady, Tom Kelly, Ruari Fraser

St Johnstone: Danny Swanson, Max Johnstone, Ross Callachan, David McMillan, Euan O’Reilly, Shaun Struthers