Scotland squad: Steve Clarke calls up Hibs' Ryan Porteous as Ryan Fraser returns for Israel, Slovakia, and Czech Republic matches

Steve Clarke has named his squad for next month’s triple-header
Steve Clarke has named a 26-man squadSteve Clarke has named a 26-man squad
Steve Clarke has named a 26-man squad

Hibs defender Ryan Porteous has been named in the Scotland squad for the play-off match against Israel and UEFA Nations League double-header against Slovakia and the Czech Republic.

The Scots take on Israel on October 8 and Slovakia on October 11 at Hampden before hosting the Czechs on October 14, also at the national stadium.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Porteous, 21, was named in Scot Gemmill’s Under-21 squad but his performances for Hibs in the early part of the 2020/21 campaign have earned him a recall to Steve Clarke’s senior team.

He was part of the Scotland squad for last year’s Euro 2020 qualifiers against Cyprus and Kazakhstan but didn’t feature in either matchday squad.

Sheffield United forward Oli McBurnie and Dundee United striker Lawrence Shankland are included after the pair pulled out last month with injuries, while Ryan Jack keeps his place desite missing Rangers’ last four games with a calf issue.

Newcastle winger Ryan Fraser has also returned to the squad after missing the last international break through a lack of match fitness and replaces Celtic’s James Forrest, who misses out after sustaining a knock during the Hoops’ Europa League victory against Riga last week.

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers: Marshall (Derby County), McCrorie (Livingston), McLaughlin (Rangers)

Defenders: Cooper (Leeds Utd), Gallagher (Motherwell), McKenna (Nottingham Forest), O'Donnell (Motherwell), Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday), Porteous (Hibs), Robertson (Liverpool), Taylor (Celtic), Tierney (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Armstrong (Southampton), Christie (Celtic), Fleck (Sheffield United), Jack (Rangers), McGinn (Aston Villa), McGregor (Celtic), McLean (Norwich City), McTominay (Manchester United).

Forwards: Burke (West Bromwich Albion), Dykes (QPR), Fraser (Newcastle United), McBurnie (Sheffield United), Paterson (Cardiff City), Shankland (Dundee United).



Want to join the conversation? Please or to comment on this article.