Victor Wanyama in a daze on day of days

MUCH happened to Victor Wanyama at Celtic Park yesterday. He scored the winning goal, was adjudged to have handled for a last-gasp penalty that his keeper saved, and in between times dropped back from midfield to centre-back.

The Kenyan international could not give first-hand accounts of two monumental moments in the win over Hearts.

Firstly, the viciously curling shot from outside the box 72 minutes in that brought the 20-year-old his first goal for the club. “I didn’t know the ball was going to go in, I just struck it and saw it in the net. I didn’t look at it. When I struck it my eyes were on the ball and I didn’t know what was going to happen. It was very difficult [with the goal celebration] because I didn’t know what to do,” said the player bought for £1m from Germinal Bershoot last summer.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Then there was the 86th-minute penalty call from referee Calum Murray. “I will have to see it again,” Wanyama said. “I jumped but I don’t know if I touched the ball with my hand. I didn’t know he awarded the penalty against me because I didn’t feel like I touched it with my hand.”

Wanyama was also involved in a curious incident in the closing minutes, when his team-mate James Forrest seemed to push him in the face, possibly playfully, though it was difficult to tell. “It was not an argument,” he said. “I gave a short ball and somebody kicked him. I wanted to say sorry I shouldn’t have put him in the s***.”

Related topics: