Fans encouraged to vote online for their try of the year

The International Rugby Board and the International Rugby Players' Association have launched the IRPA Try of the Year Award 2010.

Rugby followers can now vote online for their favourite try from a shortlist of 18 superb tries from the RBS Six Nations, Tri- Nations, Women's Rugby World Cup, IRB Pacific Nations Cup, IRB Nations Cup, June and November internationals.

Fans are invited to visit and click on the 'IRPA Try of the Year' to view the tries in contention for the coveted award and then vote for their preferred choice.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

"The IRPA Try of the Year is a hugely anticipated Award. Last year's competition, which saw a try scored by South Africa's Fourie du Preez win the award, attracted over 10,500 votes with the social media community spreading the word," said IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset.

"This year fans have an opportunity to vote for tries scored by players representing seven nations and I am sure the competition will be close."

IRPA representatives narrowed the field from 230 tries to 18 for the final selection. New Zealand's men and women players have five tries in the shortlist, with Australia, England and Wales represented three times each.

IRB Player of the Year 2008 Shane Williams is the only player to have two tries featured in the shortlist - for the second year running. One is his match-winner against Scotland. Three tries are included from Women's Rugby World Cup 2010 with England's Danielle Waterman, Australia's Cobie-Jane Morgan and New Zealand's Huriana Manuel all touching down.

The online poll will close on Monday, 17 January, 2011 and the winner will be announced later that month.

1: Shane Williams, Wales v France

2: Ben Foden, France v England

3: Shane Williams, Wales v Scotland

4: Dan Carter, New Zealand v Wales

5: Felipe Contepomi, Argentina v France

6: Gonzalo Tiesi, Argentina v Scotland

7: Mils Muliana, Australia v New Zealand

8: Israel Dagg, New Zealand v South Africa

9: James O'Connor, South Africa v Australia

10: Danielle Waterman, England v USA

11: Cobie-Jane Morgan, Australia v Wales

12: Huriana Manuel, New Zealand v Australia

13: Chrysander Botha, Georgia v Namibia

14: Nikola Matawalu, Fiji v Japan

15: Juan Jose Imhoff, Argentina A v Italy A

16: Chris Ashton, England v Australia

17: James Hook, Wales v SA

18: Adam Ashley-Cooper, New Zealand v Australia