Preston Mommsen to captain Scotland at World Cup

Scotland coach Grant Bradburn has confirmed Preston Mommsen will captain the side at next year’s ICC Cricket World Cup.
Preston Mommsen played a pivotal role in Scotland's qualification for the World Cup. Picture: SNSPreston Mommsen played a pivotal role in Scotland's qualification for the World Cup. Picture: SNS
Preston Mommsen played a pivotal role in Scotland's qualification for the World Cup. Picture: SNS

The Saltires chief has also announced Kyle Coetzer will be vice-captain for the tournament, which gets under way on 14 February in Australia and New Zealand.

Mommsen played a pivotal role as Scotland clinched their place in competition. The 27-year-old put in an impressive display during the World Cup qualification tournament as he scored 520 runs in eight innings on his way to being named Player of the Tournament.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

He has compiled 684 runs after 26 one-day internationals with an average of 31.09. His highest score of 139 came against the UAE in the final of the qualifying tournament.

His leadership skills also played a part as Mommsen was named as the 2014 ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year.

He takes over the captaincy duties on a permanent basis from Northamptonshire’s Coetzer, who skippered the side for most of the last two years.


Subscribe to our daily newsletter (requires registration) and get the latest news, sport and business headlines delivered to your inbox every morning

• You can also follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google +

Mommsen said: “It’s a huge honour to be leading the Scotland team into the 2015 Cricket World Cup. This group of players have been together for a couple of years now, and this has always been the dream.

“It’s an exciting time for everyone involved in Scottish cricket and hopefully our performances in Australia and New Zealand will help promote the game, and inspire the next generation in Scotland.”

Bradburn added: “We have a strong squad line-up and excellent leaders in Preston and Kyle, as we prepare to play some international cricketing giants on the world stage.

“We don’t underestimate the challenge but we have been training hard and will be bringing our absolute best to this hugely important global event.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Scotland will play at least six matches during the tournament, opening their Pool A campaign with a sold-out clash against co-hosts New Zealand in Dunedin on 17 February. England are next up in Christchurch on 23 February before the Scots return to Dunedin three days later to face Afghanistan.

Bangladesh will provide the opposition in Nelson on 5 March, with Sri Lanka next on the schedule on 11 March in Hobart, the same venue for their final group game against Australia on 14 March.

The schedule of warm-up games was also released yesterday with Scotland facing Ireland on 10 February and West Indies two days later with both games in Sydney.


8 Feb – India v Australia, Adelaide

9 Feb – South Africa v Sri Lanka, Christchurch; New Zealand v Zimbabwe, Christchurch; England v West Indies, Sydney; Pakistan v Bangladesh, Sydney

10 Feb – Ireland v Scotland, Sydney; India v Afghanistan, Adelaide

11 Feb – New Zealand v South Africa, Christchurch; Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, Christchurch; Australia v United Arab Emirates, Melbourne; England v Pakistan, Sydney

12 Feb – West Indies v Scotland, Sydney; Ireland v Bangladesh, Sydney

13 Feb – Afghanistan v United Arab Emirates, Melbourne


• Download your free 30-day trial for our iPad, Android and Kindle apps