Four new faces in England’s ICC Trophy squad

ENGLAND have named four uncapped players in their 30-man provisional squad for June’s ICC Champions Trophy.

Seamers James Harris, a new signing for Middlesex, and Warwickshire’s Chris Wright have been included in the extended selection, which will be cut to 15 names by 5 May.

Yorkshire batsman Gary Ballance and Bears opener Varun Chopra are the other new faces in the party.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

England have resisted the temptation to recall Test wicketkeeper Matt Prior to the limited-overs set-up, with Yorkshire batsman Jonny Bairstow and Somerset pair Craig Kieswetter and Jos Buttler providing the 
options behind the stumps.

National selector Geoff Miller said: “This is a balanced squad which will provide the selectors with strong options in all areas and reflects players’ performances for both the senior England teams and the England Lions and EPP (England Performance Programme) squads over the winter period.

“With this country hosting the tournament for the first time since 2004, there will be every incentive for England to perform well and we anticipate intense competition for places in our final squad, which will be named early next month.”

Prior is one of five names included in the 30-man Performance Squad earlier this week but absent from yesterday’s list. Test specialists Nick Compton and Monty Panesar, Twenty20 opener Michael Lumb and Surrey paceman Chris Tremlett, who is approaching full fitness after a long-term back problem, will also not be considered.

Nottinghamshire batsman James Taylor, who was surprisingly left out of the Performance Squad, has been included along with Warwickshire all-rounder Rikki Clarke. Chopra, Ballance and Wright are the other selections who did not feature in Tuesday’s squad.

There is no place for Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes, who was also left out of the Performance Squad having been sent home from the Lions’ winter tour of Australia for a disciplinary breach.

Wright said yesterday’s call-up was “unexpected”, adding: “I’m delighted. Obviously I’m aware it’s going to be trimmed down, but I’ll just try and make sure I’m sniffing around there somewhere with the hope of making it.”

ENGLAND’S ICC CHAMPIONS TROPHY PROVISIONAL 30-MAN SQUAD: AN Cook (Essex, capt), JM Anderson (Lancashire), JM Bairstow (Yorkshire), GS Ballance (Yorkshire), IR Bell (Warwickshire), RS Bopara (Essex), TT Bresnan (Yorkshire), DR Briggs (Hampshire), SCJ Broad (Nottinghamshire), JC Buttler (Somerset), V Chopra (Warwickshire), R Clarke (Warwickshire), JW Dernbach (Surrey), ST Finn (Middlesex), AD Hales (Nottinghamshire), JAR Harris (Middlesex), C Kieswetter (Somerset), SC Meaker (Surrey), EJG Morgan (Middlesex), G Onions (Durham), SR Patel (Nottinghamshire), KP Pietersen (Surrey), JE Root (Yorkshire), GP Swann (Nottinghamshire), JWA Taylor (Nottinghamshire), JC Tredwell (Kent), IJL Trott (Warwickshire), CR Woakes (Warwickshire), CJC Wright (Warwickshire), LJ Wright (Sussex).