Robert Burns: 10 places you can visit with a link to Scotland’s national bard

FOR a man whose life came to an abrupt end in his 37th year, Robert Burns sure managed to get around.

PIC: ROB MCDOUGALL FEATURE ON HOW VISITSCOTLAND MARKETS SCOTLAND TO THE OVERSEAS MARKET. GROUP OF RUSSIAN TOUR OPERATORS VISIT AYRSHIRE. ROBERT BURNS COTTAGE, ALLOWAY, PART OF THE BURNS NATIONAL HERITAGE PARK. ROB MCDOUGALL - PHOTOGRAPHER M: 07856 222 103 [email protected] WWW.ROBMCDOUGALL.COM

Around the country there are numerous homes, farms and watering holes that boast a clear link with our national bard.

The Globe Inn, which Burn's himself described as his 'favourite howff', dates back to 1610 and is still attracting drinkers to this day.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

A plaque at No5 Sciennes House Place records the meeting between Robert Burns and Sir Walter Scott which took place in 1787. Scott was just 15 years old at the time.
Robert Burns Burns Birthplace Museum is rooted in the stunning village of Alloway, the place where the bard entered this world in 1759.
The White Hart Inn was where Robert bid farewell to his lover, Agnes 'Nancy' McLehose, before she emigrated to Jamaica. She became the inspiration for Burns' poem Ae Fond Kiss.
The house in which Robert Burns died in 1796 at the age of 37.
A plaque recalls the site of Robert Burns' home at the now demolished Baxter's Close while he lived in Edinburgh. It can be found at the historic Lady Stair's Close, home to the Writers' Museum, just off the city's Royal Mile.
Well worth a visit is The Burns House Museum in Mauchline, on the cobbled back streets not far from where the man himself lived and worked in the 1780s.
Burns was a co-founder of the Tarbolton Bachelors' Club and the 17th century dwelling where the club was headquarted can still be visited.
William Creech published the first Edinburgh edition of Burns' poems. Although demolished, the site of Creech's house, which stood adjacent to St Giles Kirk and faced the mercat cross, can still be visited today.
Robert Burns built, resided and worked at the farm for a few years after 1788.