Lowland League clubs to discuss inaugural season

The clubs elected into the newly-formed Lowland League will meet for the first time today to push forward plans for their inaugural season.

Representatives of the 12 sides whose membership was confirmed last week are scheduled to gather at the home of Whitehill Welfare to discuss a range of topics, including the election of a board.

Nine East of Scotland outfits and three from the South of Scotland – including East Kilbride, who were due to take their place in the South league for the first time next season – had their invitations accepted by the SFA to form the base of Scottish football’s new 
pyramid system.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The winner of the new league will play off against the Highland League champions and the bottom team in the new Scottish Professional Football League to decide on promotion to, or relegation from, the Third Division.

Five clubs had their applications turned down, while it is expected that a number of prominent clubs from the junior ranks will seek acceptance into the league in time for season 2014-15.

Following today’s meeting, the remaining East of Scotland clubs will convene an extraordinary general meeting on Thursday as they piece together plans for their new campaign.

Last season, the East league ran a Premier Division of 12 teams and a 14-club First Division but, with nine having made the cut for the Lowland League, there are just 18 sides left in the East set-up, following the acceptance of a Hibs ‘B’ team.

The East will decide on the possibility of new clubs being admitted, with Spartans, Gala Fairydean Rovers, 
Edinburgh City and Stirling University all understood to be considering fielding a second team in the East leagues after being accepted into the Lowland division.

The 12 clubs successful with applications to join the Lowland League were: Spartans, Threave Rovers, Preston Athletic, Gretna 2008, Whitehill Welfare, Dalbeattie Star, East Kilbride, Selkirk, Gala Fairydean Rovers, Edinburgh City, University of Stirling and Vale of Leithen.

Meanwhile, the clock has been turned back 105 years with the formation of Gala Fairydean Rovers. It follows an amalgamation between Gala Fairydean and Border Amateur A Division champions Gala Rovers. The name change was confirmed at the annual general meeting of Gala Fairydean on Friday night. Kevin Temple is the new chairman of Gala Fairydean Rovers which was the name of the club back in 1908 before the clubs went their separate ways.