Scottish Green Energy Award contenders announced

Fifty finalists are in contention for the 14th Scottish Green Energy Awards, to be held in Edinburgh on December 3.
Windfarm. Picture: Ian RutherfordWindfarm. Picture: Ian Rutherford
Windfarm. Picture: Ian Rutherford

Three community hydropower projects, the Director-General of the Confederation of British Industry (CBI), an Orkney business with world-leading expertise in wave and tidal energy and Scotland’s biggest energy consumer are all shortlisted for the prestigious gongs.

Locals in Edinburgh, the Trossachs and on the Isle of Mull are all benefitting from hydro-electric schemes, which are in the running for the Best Community Project award.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

CBI chief John Cridland’s consistent highlighting of the impact of UK Government cuts to green energy this summer sees him nominated in the Champion of Renewables category.

Leask Marine, whose work to remove a tidal energy device from the Orkney seabed then return the site to its original state was acclaimed as a world-first, is nominated as Best Supplier.

Scottish Water’s efforts to use renewable energy – doubling its green power capacity since 2013 in a bid to reduce its £45 million energy bill – see the business nominated for the Renewing Scotland award alongside a district heating scheme in Wick, an innovative rural heating project in the Borders village of Abbey St Bathans and a solar farm at Mackie’s ice cream factory.

Niall Stuart, Chief Executive of Scottish Renewables, which organises the 1,000-strong awards event, said: “2015 has been an incredibly difficult year for renewable energy, with a whole series of cuts by the Westminster Government. We should however remember that our industry is producing record levels of heat and power as we seek to lead the transformation in Scotland’s energy sector.

“This year’s finalists have all played a part in our industry’s success and show the many ways in which the growth of renewable energy is benefitting communities and businesses across the country.

“I would like to thank everyone who entered the awards, and I look forward to congratulating the worthy winners on December 3.”

The full list of finalists can be found online.