Corrie, EastEnders and Emmerdale red-carded during World Cup - here's when you can catch your favourite soaps

Soap addicts look away now.

Soap addicts look away now.

The World Cup kicks off on Thursday (14 June) and Coronation Street, Emmerdale and EastEnders are all affected by this summer's football extravaganza in Russia, with the BBC and ITV showing live matches throughout the tournament.

Hide Ad

That's the bad news for soap fans. The good news is that during the first full week of the World Cup, Corrie will have hour-long specials to replace the scrapped episodes.

EastEnders fans will be happy to hear there will be two episodes on Monday, June 18 to make up for Tuesday's episode being binned. Then, on the Thursday (21 June), the soap will begin at 9.10pm.

Hide Ad

Emmerdale will have several hour-long episodes during the tournament, starting at 7pm.

The changes will come into effect from the week beginning June 18.

Hide Ad

TV schedules have now been confirmed up to Friday, June 22 - but you can be sure the World Cup will continue to dominate the prime-time slots until the final is staged on July 15.

Here's what you can expect:

Hide Ad

Monday, June 11

7pm: Emmerdale

Hide Ad

7.30pm: Coronation Street

8pm: EastEnders

Hide Ad

8.30pm: Coronation Street

Tuesday, June 12

Hide Ad

7pm: Emmerdale (hour-long episode)

7.30pm: EastEnders

Hide Ad

The World Cup will dominate TV schedules for the next few weeks

Wednesday, June 13

Hide Ad

7pm: Emmerdale

7.30pm: Coronation Street

Hide Ad

8.30pm: Coronation Street

Thursday, June 14

Hide Ad

7pm: Emmerdale

7.30pm: EastEnders

Hide Ad

8pm: Emmerdale

Friday, June 15

Hide Ad

7pm: Emmerdale (hour-long episode)

8pm: Coronation Street (hour-long episode)

Hide Ad

9.10pm: EastEnders

Monday, June 18

Hide Ad

9.25pm: EastEnders (hour-long episode)

No Coronation Street or Emmerdale.

Hide Ad

Tuesday, June 19

7pm: Emmerdale (hour-long episode)

Hide Ad

8pm: Coronation Street (hour-long episode)

No EastEnders.

Hide Ad

Wednesday, June 20

8pm: Holby City

Hide Ad

No Emmerdale or Coronation Street.

Thursday, June 21

Hide Ad

7pm: Emmerdale (hour-long episode)

8pm: Coronation Street (hour-long episode)

Hide Ad

9.10pm: EastEnders

Friday, June 22

Hide Ad

7pm: Emmerdale (hour-long episode)

8pm: Coronation Street (hour-long episode)

Hide Ad

9.10pm: EastEnders