Wordsmiths pen winners

THE winners of the Writer of the Year 2011 competition for wordsmiths in East and Midlothian have been announced.

Marie MacPherson scooped the flagship prize for East Lothian for her work Birth, and received a glass trophy and a masterclass in creative writing.

Ian Murray won the East Lothian poetry category, Mary Johnston won in the Midlothian prose category, while first prize in the Midlothian poetry category went to Lesley Kelly.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The awards, sponsored by Kesley’s Bookshop of Haddington, were announced at the Brunton Theatre last week.