Wolf Hall loses out in Costa Book Awards

HILARY Mantel's novel Wolf Hall, winner of last year's Man Booker Prize, has lost out at the Costa Book Awards.

Although shortlisted in the best novel category, it lost to Brooklyn by Irish novelist Colm Tibin. He now goes forward with the other four category winners to fight for the overall Costa Book of the Year award, which will be announced on 26 January.

The other category winners, announced last night, are: Raphael Selbourne (first novel); Graham Farmelo (biography); Christopher Reid (poetry); and Patrick Ness (children's book).