Record entry for Scottish Legal Awards

THE finalists for the 11th Scott & Co Scottish Legal Awards met last week ahead of the announcement of the winners at the annual awards dinner.
The Scottish Legal Awards 2013. Picture: Scottish Legal Awards 2013. Picture:
The Scottish Legal Awards 2013. Picture:

More than 80 representatives from the finalists met judges and sponsors at a reception at Edinburgh’s Hotel Missoni to celebrate their selection.

Lorna Jack, chief executive of the Law Society of Scotland and deputy chair of the judging panel, said: “This has been an excellent year for the awards with a record number of entries – and many strong and detailed entries across both individual and team categories.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“The number of entries and the turnout for the reception highlights the level of interest from across the profession and reflects a renewed sense of confidence that things are really starting to look up.”

The winners will be announced at an awards dinner on Thursday 20 March 2014 at the Assembly Rooms in Edinburgh. Places at the event are sold out but please contact [email protected] to be added to a waiting list or for any further information please visit

The awards are operated in support of Children 1st and LawWorks Scotland.


Specialist Lawyer of the Year

• Lorna Brown, Caritas Legal

• Andy Drane, Davidson Chalmers LLP

• Stuart Easton, Eastons Private Client Solicitors

• Andrew Pollock, Peacock Johnston

• Neil Waterman, Watermans Solicitors

Rising Star of the Year sponsored by The Law Society of Scotland

• Philip Hall, ACH Shoosmiths

• Greg Flett, Davidson Chalmers LLP

• Laura Sillars, Gildeas Solicitors

• Mark Allison, Livingstone Brown

• Alexander Lamley, McClure Naismith

• Keith Anderson, Morisons LLP

• Scott Whyte, Watermans Solicitors

Innovation Award

sponsored by Millar & Bryce

• Dundas & Wilson

• McEwan Fraser Legal

Family Law Team of the Year

• Harper Macleod LLP

• HBM Sayers

Energy Team of the Year sponsored by Wolffe

• Davidson Chalmers LLP

• Gillespie MacAndrew LLP

Employment Team of the Year sponsored by Badenoch & Clark

• Simpson & Marwick

• Thompsons Solicitors

Community Contribution

• Allan McDougall

• Digby Brown LLP

• Dundas & Wilson

• Irwin Mitchell Scotland LLP

• MacPhee & Partners

• Shepherd and Wedderburn

Residential Property Team of the Year sponsored by the National Association of Estate Agents

• Blair Cadell

• Harper Macleod LLP

• McEwan Fraser Legal

• McQueen Legal

• Simpson & Marwick

Paralegal of the Year

• Anna Dabrowska, Caritas Legal

• Kelie Cooper, MacPhee & Partners

Private Client Team of the Year sponsored by Hotel Missoni

• ACH Shoosmiths

• Caritas Legal

Litigation Team of the Year

• ACH Shoosmiths

• Allan McDougall

• Irwin Mitchell Scotland LLP

• Livingstone Brown Solicitors

• Mackinnons

• Morisons LLP

• Simpson & Marwick

Pro Bono Award

• DLA Piper Scotland LLP

• Faculty of Advocates

• Shepherd and Wedderburn

Trainee Employer of the Year sponsored by Barr Printers

• Dundas & Wilson

• Watermans Solicitors

In House Legal Team of the Year

• City of Edinburgh Council

• Life Technologies Limited

• Skyscanner Ltd

Support Team of the Year sponsored by Cameron Presentations

• Digital Typeline Publications Ltd

• Gildeas Solicitors

• HBM Sayers

• Scotia Law Training Ltd

• The Cashroom Ltd

Firm of the Year sponsored by DX

• Harper Macleod LLP

• McEwan Fraser Legal

• Simpson & Marwick

The winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by The Scotsman, and managing partner of the year, sponsored by Bank of Scotland, will be announced at the dinner.