From the archives: Nationalisation of electricity, 11 January, 1947

SCOTLAND is given a surprisingly wide measure of “self-government” in the Electricity Bill.

It carries out the government’s plan for the nationalisation of all the authorised electricity 
undertakings in the country – including those now operated by local authorities – and for the supply of electricity being in future in the hands of a British Electricity Authority, which will work with the aid of 14 Area Boards. All the area north of a line drawn roughly between south of the Tay, Stirling and the west coast above Glasgow is placed in the charge of the North of Scotland Hydro-Electric Board. This will be strengthened and enlarged and will enjoy full autonomy including care of its own finances. South of that line Scotland is divided into two areas – South-East and South-West – and these are boards will operate under the control of the Central Authority in London.