Life Sciences Awards to honour best of fast-growing sector

Successes in Scotland's burgeoning Life Science sector are to be recognised at an award ceremony and dinner in Glasgow this month.
The Life Sciences awards take place this month.The Life Sciences awards take place this month.
The Life Sciences awards take place this month.

A record £152 million was invested in the sector in Scotland last year and now it is time to celebrate that success.

Scotland’s Life Sciences Awards have been highlighting the stars of this vibrant industry since 1999 and on February 28, their recent achievements will be recognised at a glittering dinner and presentation event in Glasgow.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of individuals, companies and research organisations over the last 12 months.

They reflect the fact that Scotland is continuing to lead the world in medical innovation and establish its position in the international

The £152m invested in the sector is a clear indication that Scotland remains a good place to access risk capital, with the most active business angel network in the UK, a dedicated £47m life science venture capital fund, and co-investment from the Scottish Investment Bank.

There were positive results from products in clinical trials and significant international collaborations, all underpinned by the strong focus set out in the refreshed Life Sciences Strategy for Scotland last year.

The keynote speaker at the ceremony is Professor Dame Anna Dominiczak, Regius Professor of Medicine, Vice Principal and Head of the College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences at Glasgow University.

Once again, competition for the awards was incredibly strong and it was a huge challenge for the judges to make their selection, with the finalists listed below.

Business Leadership (2017)

Sponsored by Opportunity North East

Dr Helen Erwood, CEO, ESPL Consulting

Campbell Grant, founder and CEO, Sitekit

Hugh Griffith, founder and CEO, NuCana

Rising Stars: Extraordinary Talent (2017)

Dr Caroline Barelle, founder and CEO, Elasmogen

Dr Neil Wilkie, director and COO, Mironid

Dr Julio Guerrero, co-founder and MD, Metix Medical

Innovation Award

Sponsored by Haseltine Lake

Omega Diagnostics

TC BioPharm

Orbital Diagnostics

Investment of the Year (2017)

Sponsored by Concept Life Sciences




Innovative Collaboration

Sponsored by Booth Welsh

CorporateHealth International and OpenBrolly in collaboration with NHS Highland

Clyde Biosciences

Albyn Housing Society in collaboration with NHS Highland and Carbon Dynamic

Rising Stars: High Growth Company (2017)

Aquila BioMedical

TC BioPharm


Related topics: