Scotland quarantine list: the countries that require 14-day self isolation on return - and where is safe to visit?

Travellers who visit a country that is not on the government’s approved list will be required to self-isolate for 14 days on their return to the UK

At the start of July the UK government released a list of travel corridors, which named all the countries and territories that are considered safe to travel to.

More than 70 countries were initially included on the list, allowing UK nationals to travel to these regions without having to quarantine on their return.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

However, following a rise in coronavirus cases in some parts of the world, several countries have since been removed as they currently pose a high risk to tourists.

Several countries have been removed from the government's list of travel corridorsSeveral countries have been removed from the government's list of travel corridors
Several countries have been removed from the government's list of travel corridors

Which countries have been removed?

In late July, Spain was removed from the list of approved travel corridors, with the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) advising against all non-essential travel to mainland Spain, including the Balearic and Canary Islands.

The advice was updated in response to an increase in coronavirus cases in several regions, but most particularly in Aragon, Navarra and Catalonia, which include the cities of Zaragoza, Pamplona and Barcelona.

Belgium, Andorra and the Bahamas were also removed from the list in early August, meaning travellers who return to the UK from these countries will now be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

France, The Netherlands, Monaco, Malta, Turks and Caicos, and the island of Aruba were all removed from the approved travel list in mid-August, with quarantine restrictions applying to all travellers returning to England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Croatia, Austria and Trinidad and Tobago, followed, along with Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Jamaica and Cuba.

On 2 September, Scotland introduced new quarantine measures for arrivals from Greece, with quarantine measures for Portugal following on 5 September.

More recently, the Scottish government has added Sweden, Hungary, La Reunion, Poland, Turkey and the Caribbean islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba to the quarantine list.

Read More
France quarantine: date new rules are enforced, what to do if you have a holiday...

What if I have a holiday booked?

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The FCDO is now advising all British nationals against all but essential travel to all of the countries listed above, based on the current assessment of coronavirus risks.

Travellers who decide to go ahead with their travel plans after 15 August will be required to self-isolate for two weeks on their return to the UK.

The Association of British Insurers (ABI) has said that travel insurance will remain valid for people who are already in quarantine countries, including France, until they return home. However, those who travel to countries against FCDO advice will “likely” find that their insurance is invalid, the ABI added.

As for employees who will have to go into quarantine, Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab previously said that no worker who is required to self-isolate should be penalised by their employer, including by being put on sick pay.

Which countries are safe to visit?

The following countries and territories currently do not require travellers to self-isolate for 14 days on returning to the UK.

If you visited or made a transit stop in a country or territory that is not on the list, you may be subject to quarantine restrictions.

Here’s the full list of countries that are considered safe to visit:

Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus


Antigua and Barbuda




British Antarctic Territory

British Indian Ocean Territory

British Virgin Islands


Cayman Islands





Falkland Islands

​​​​Faroe Islands







​​​​​​Hong Kong







Madeira and Azores (not Portugal mainland)




New Caledonia

New Zealand


Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands

Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

San Marino



South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

St Barthélemy

St Kitts & Nevis

St Lucia

St Pierre and Miquelon

St Vincent and the Grenadines

South Korea




Vatican City State


Related topics: