Nicola Sturgeon announces which level of lockdown applies to where you live

New localised restrictions for Scots have been announced by the First Minister in Holyrood ahead of their introduction on Monday November 2.

Nicola Sturgeon announced the details of where the new levels system applies across Scotland following the publication of the new ‘strategic framework’ last week.

The new restrictions will see different levels of restrictions applied to different parts of the country, with differences on hospitality restrictions, childcare, sports and leisure and entertainment venues.

No local authorities will sit in Level Zero or Level Four from Monday, with Levels One to Three applying across the country.

Nicola Sturgeon announces which level of lockdown applies to where you live

Ms Sturgeon said that the measures in place were beginning to work and said that the restrictions were designed to be proportionate but did not rule out moving the whole country to Level Four in future.

She said: "Given the fragile situation we face - and the fact that we are migrating to this new system for the first time - we are taking a deliberately cautious approach today.

“If we all dig in and stick with it, this proportionate approach has a real chance of being sustainable and keeping Covid under control over the winter.

“If we succeed, we open the prospect – in all parts of the country – of being able to lead slightly less restricted lives in the future hopefully in the reasonably near future.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has announced the new lockdown levels system for Scotland

"We want to avoid this, obviously but to achieve that, we must all play our part. The Government must and will lead but all of us have individual agency - and individual responsibility.

“None of us can guarantee we will not get or transmit the virus – but we can all make choices that keep ourselves, our loved ones and our communities safer.”

The First Minister added some areas including Edinburgh, East Lothian, the Borders, Argyll and Bute may soon see their levels reduced, and said the decision to keep the Lanarkshires in Level Three not Level Four was “borderline” and will be reviewed daily.

Ms Sturgeon added it was “not yet safe” to move Inverclyde down to Level Two.

Each local authority level will be reviewed weekly, although most levels will not change for around three or four weeks.

The main statistical data being used to decide on which levels apply to which areas include cases per 100,000 people, test positivity rates, the cases per 100,000 people forecast, and hospital and intensive care admission forecasts.

Which level applies to your local authority?

East Ayrshire: Level Three

North Ayrshire: Level Three

South Ayrshire: Level Three

Scottish Borders: Level Two

Dumfries and Galloway: Level Two

Fife: Level Two

Clackmannanshire: Level Three

Falkirk: Level Three

Stirling: Level Three

Moray: Level One on November 2

Aberdeen City: Level Two

Aberdeenshire: Level Two

East Renfrewshire: Level Three

Inverclyde: Level Three

Renfrewshire: Level Three

West Dunbartonshire: Level Three

East Dunbartonshire: Level Three

Glasgow City: Level Three

Highland: Level One on November 2

Argyll and Bute: Level Two

South Lanarkshire: Level Three

North Lanarkshire: Level Three

East Lothian: Level Three

Midlothian: Level Three

City of Edinburgh: Level Three

West Lothian: Level Three

Orkney Islands: Level One on November 2

Shetland Islands: Level One on November 2

Angus: Level Two

Dundee City: Level Three on November 2

Perth and Kinross: Level One on November 2

Na h-Eileanan Siar: Level Two

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this article. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by coronavirus impacts our advertisers.

If you haven't already, please consider supporting our trusted, fact-checked journalism by taking out a digital subscription.


Want to join the conversation? Please or to comment on this article.