Coronavirus in Scotland: All the areas moved to level four lockdown restrictions

The First Minister announced this afternoon that the west of Scotland areas including Greater Glasgow and Clyde and Lanarkshire will move from level three to level four Coronavirus restrictions from Friday onwards.

The local authorities which will move into level four are Glasgow City, East Renfrewshire, Renfrewshire, East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, West Lothian and Stirling.

The new restrictions will be in place for 3 weeks until December 11.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The move into tighter restrictions will be much like the lockdown introduced in March with all non-essential shops, bars and restaurants closing in these areas as of Friday.

(Photo by Jeff J Mitchell/Getty Images)(Photo by Jeff J Mitchell/Getty Images)
(Photo by Jeff J Mitchell/Getty Images)

The news comes after Ms Sturgeon hinted yesterday that Greater Glasgow and Clyde and Lanarkshire, currently in level three, may need to move into level four as rates of infection in these areas remain “stubbornly high.”

This is the first time any area has been placed under level four conditions since the tiered system was introduced.

According to Ms Sturgeon, the move hopes to protect the NHS and allow for a loosening of restrictions in the lead up to Christmas.

Speaking at Parliament today, Ms Sturgeon said: “Level 4 is intended to be short and sharp. And in this situation, it is specifically intended to have an impact in advance of Christmas and the most challenging winter period"

While socialising will stay the same as level three, only essential retail will remain open in level four.

Close contact services including hairdressers and barbers, beauty salons and tattoo artists must also shut.

Schools, colleges and universities will remain open in level four as will early learning and childcare.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

All indoor visitor attractions such as museums, galleries, heritage attractions, indoor areas of zoos and aquariums will have to close.

Meeting up with people under level four will remain the same as level three restrictions, meaning that people in the affected areas cannot meet with another household in their or another’s home (unless for care reasons).

In level four, you can still meet one other household indoors in a public place with a maximum of six people from two households.Children under the age of 12 do not count towards this number.

Groups of six from two households can meet outdoors in a private garden or public place such as a park.

Again, under 12s are not subject to this rule, while those aged between 12 and 17 are not subject to the household limit.

Couples who do not live together and people who live alone can still form extended households under level four, however, households must not form with more than one other household.

Where parents do not live in the same household, children can move between their parents’ homes in all levels, this includes both supervised and unsupervised visitation.

People are advised to work from home wherever that is practicable.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

All holiday accommodation will also be closed to tourism, though hotels, B&Bs and self-catering can remain open for essential customers.

Outdoor gyms can remain open, and you are permitted to meet others outdoors, following the rules around meeting other households, for informal exercise or sport.

Outdoor visitor attractions, such as parks, gardens and the outdoor areas of zoos may remain open.

Indoor acts of worship are limited to a maximum of 20 people providing there is sufficient space to maintain safe two metre distancing.

Wedding ceremonies and civil partnership registrations can take place with a maximum capacity of 15 people (including the couple, the witnesses and guests) providing the venue’s capacity allows for two metre physical distancing.

Wedding or civil partnership receptions cannot take place in level four.

Those in the shielding group in level four have been asked to minimise contact with people outside their own household if possible.

They should avoid public transport.

When shopping they should strictly follow the guidelines and limit the number of times they go to a shop.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

At this level the Chief Medical Officer will issue a letter which is similar to a fit note and which will last for as long as their area is under Level 4 restrictions.

This letter can be used in the few cases where it is not possible to make a workplace safe.

Children on the shielding list should not attend school or childcare in person.

A message from the Editor:Thank you for reading this article. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by Coronavirus impacts our advertisers.

If you haven't already, please consider supporting our trusted, fact-checked journalism by taking out a digital subscription.