Over 180 graduates from Scotland’s Rural College

Yesterday saw a notable first when more than 180 graduates received their degrees at the first ever Scotland’s Rural College (SRUC) graduation.

The ceremony was the first to take place since SRUC was formed through the merger of SAC with Barony, Elmwood and Oatridge Colleges and principal Professor Bob Webb reminded guests that SRUC had evolved from organisations with over 100 years of tradition and innovation in the rural sector.

Webb, pictured below, highlighted SRUC’s research work, with awards from a range of funders totalling £16 million.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

He also praised the quality of SAC Consulting’s advisory and veterinary activities including the delivery of the Scottish Government’s Veterinary Surveillance scheme and its “New Entrants to Farming” programme.

During the ceremony, Ian Galloway, chairman and chief executive of the J W Galloway group, was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of SRUC.

Seven SRUC researchers received professorships, Mike Coffey, Tony Edwards, Bryan Griffiths, Mike Hutchings, Davy McCracken, Bob Rees and Christine Watson.

Four other employees received Readerships: Ian Bingham, Mizeck Chagunda, Rick D’eath and Raphael Mrode whiel a visiting professorship was awarded to Professor Roel Veerkamp of Wageningnen University.

SAC Consulting’s Donald Archie MacLellan received the R C Stewart Prize for Consultancy and John Elcock received the Principal’s Award for Lifetime Achievement in Teaching.