Top Scottish company directors recognised at IoD awards

Leading company directors in Scotland have been recognised at a virtual awards ceremony last night – including a special prize for “true inspiration” Heather McGregor.
IoD Scotland national director Malcolm Cannon. Picture: Susie Lowe.IoD Scotland national director Malcolm Cannon. Picture: Susie Lowe.
IoD Scotland national director Malcolm Cannon. Picture: Susie Lowe.

The Institute of Directors (IoD) in Scotland’s annual Director of the Year Awards, which were held online for the first time, included 12 key director categories.

Winners encompassed Jim Galbraith of Scottish Friendly Assurance, who picked up the IoD Scotland Director of the Year – Large Business prize, while triumphing in the Small-Medium Business category was Marshall Dallas of the Edinburgh International Conference Centre.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The judging panel, which was chaired by Raymond O’Hare, said: “Jim Galbraith leads a very strong business with a track record of sustainable and profitable growth. The business has been revitalised through robust leadership and governance… and looks well-placed to take on future challenges in a changing market.

“The judges were impressed with Marshall’s commitment to staff and team development and on the acquisition of knowledge and its application. Marshall’s contribution to Scotland is recognised by providing a venue and forum for commercial, academic and cultural exchanges.”

Lynne Cadenhead of Women’s Enterprise Scotland won in the equality, diversity and inclusion category, while Dave Hughes of sensors firm Novosound came top in the start-up section.

Read More
Solid second year for Glasgow-based MM Search thanks to global assault

IoD Scotland national director Malcolm Cannon commented: “In times of crisis, we still see an incredible amount of tenacity and drive shown by those leading Scotland’s business community. Creating and leading organisations that are built to thrive is vital in this current environment.

"With more external forces placing a strain on the viability of businesses like never before, they require leadership that can steady the ship, and that benefits their employees, customers and stakeholders – to whom they are responsible.

“We were overwhelmed by the number of entries this year, and our judging panel had the tough job of whittling down almost 200 entries to just 54 final contenders for our prestigious awards.

"Amongst our winners, we were most impressed by those who, despite their position, are not afraid to continually develop and actively encourage training to keep ideas fresh. By creating vibrant and positive cultures, leaders are motivating their teams to improve their organisation. This is no mean feat given current market conditions.”

There were also seven regional and two special awards. The latter included the IoD Scotland Chair’s Award, which was awarded to McGregor, executive dean at Heriot-Watt University’s Edinburgh Business School, non-executive chairman of the Taylor Bennett Foundation and former Mrs Moneypenny columnist in the Financial Times.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

IoD Scotland chair Aidan O’Carroll said: “Heather has shown so many of the attributes that the IoD wants to celebrate, and has done so over a long and distinguished career.

"A successful investment banker, she went on to create an international recruitment firm as an owner/ entrepreneur, and started a foundation in 2008 that encourages [Black, Asian, and minority ethnic] graduates to enter into a career in communications. A true inspiration for so many people here in Scotland and around the world.”

Full list of winners:

IoD Scotland Director of the Year – Large Business – Jim Galbraith, Scottish Friendly Assurance

IoD Scotland Director of the Year – Small-Medium Business – Marshall Dallas, EICC. Highly Commended: Michael Rolland, The Paint Shed.

IoD Scotland Director of the Year – International – Colin Wade, Chemco International

Turcan Connell Director of the Year – Family Business – Ed Monaghan, Mactaggart & Mickel

SCVO Director of the Year – Third Sector – Iain MacRitchie, MCR Pathways

IoD Scotland Director of the Year – Public Sector – Simon Milne, Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Insights Learning and Development Director of the Year – Young – Rebecca Bell, Spectrum Service Solutions

IoD Scotland Director of the Year – Equality, Diversity & Inclusion – Lynne Cadenhead, Women's Enterprise Scotland

Scottish Government Director of the Year – Innovation – Martin Murray, Dunnet Bay Distillers

IoD Scotland Director of the Year – Start-Up – Dave Hughes, Novosound. Highly commended: Nicki Sturzaker, Drylaw House.

Wheatley Group Director of the Year – Non-Executive – Sarah Deas, Bank of Scotland Foundation and Wellbeing Economy Alliance (Scotland). Highly commended: John Anderson, iMultiply Resourcing Limited.

Zero Waste Scotland Director of the Year – Social Value & Sustainability Impact – Martin McCrimmon, CMS Window Systems

IoD Scotland Chair's Award – Heather McGregor

IoD Scotland Young Enterprise Scotland Award – Lyle Hamilton, Idiom/Dumfries & Galloway High School

Regional Directors of the Year Winners

Edinburgh & Lothians – Simon Milne, Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh

Central Scotland – Ken Thomson, Forth Valley College

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Glasgow & West of Scotland – Iain MacRitchie, MCR Pathways. (Special recognition: Vanessa Gilpin, strEAT Events).

Highlands and Islands Enterprise Regional Director – Niall MacDonald, previously with Aquascot. Highly commended: Lisa Kerr, Gordonstoun.

Tayside & Fife – Nathan Pyne-Carter, Ace Aquatec. Highly commended: Mike Robinson, Royal Scottish Geographical Society

South of Scotland – Anna White, ScotlandShop

Aberdeen & Grampian – Graham McWilliam – Glencraft (Aberdeen)

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this story on our website. While I have your attention, I also have an important request to make of you.

The dramatic events of 2020 are having a major impact on many of our advertisers - and consequently the revenue we receive. We are now more reliant than ever on you taking out a digital subscription to support our journalism.

Subscribe to and enjoy unlimited access to Scottish news and information online and on our app. Visit now to sign up. By supporting us, we are able to support you in providing trusted, fact-checked content for this website.

Joy Yates

Editorial Director



Want to join the conversation? Please or to comment on this article.