Twin Peaks cast list announced ahead of 2017 premiere

AN eclectic cast including newcomers Naomi Watts, Richard Chamberlain, Jim Belushi, Michael Cera and Amanda Seyfried has been announced for the new series of the offbeat US drama Twin Peaks.

Actor Kyle MacLachlan is among the returning cast members for the new series of Twin Peaks, screening next year. Picture: AP

The Showtime channel released a complete cast list that also includes Twin Peaks veterans Kyle MacLachlan, Sherilyn Fenn, David Duchovny and Harry Dean Stanton.

The new Twin Peaks returns to the scene of the crime, a quaint north-western town, 25 years after the murder of homecoming queen Laura Palmer.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Showtime said principal photography on Twin Peaks, from executive producers David Lynch and Mark Frost, has wrapped. A date for the new series’ 2017 premiere has yet to be announced.

Read More

Read More
Inverness setting for Scots answer to Twin Peaks

Other newcomers to the show include Jennifer Jason Leigh, Ashley Judd, Laura Dern, Ernie Hudson and Tom Sizemore.

Original cast members not returning to the new series include Lara Flynn Boyle, Joan Chen, Heather Graham, Piper Laurie and Michael Ontkean.

Catherine Coulson, who played the Log Lady, died last year but will appear posthumously in the new show.