Strictly returns with a tribute to Sir Bruce Forsyth

Strictly Come Dancing returns on Saturday night with a new judge, three new professional dancers, and an emotional tribute to former host Sir Bruce Forsyth, who died last month.
Mollie King and Joe McFadden are among the celebs taking part.Mollie King and Joe McFadden are among the celebs taking part.
Mollie King and Joe McFadden are among the celebs taking part.

The popular BBC One dancing show is back for its 15th series and will be hoping to trump last year’s record-breaking launch-night viewing figure of 9.3 million.

New judge Shirley Ballas, 56, makes her debut as Len Goodman’s replacement after he retired his paddle following 12 years of dishing out “tens from Len”.

Hide Ad

The returning professional dancer line-up features Strictly originals Brendan Cole and Anton Du Beke as well as other favourites like Gorka Marquez, Aljaz Skorjanec, Karen Clifton, Katya Jones and Oti Mabuse.

The three new professional dancers are Australian Dianne Buswell, Nadiya Bychkova from Ukraine and Amy Dowden from Wales.

The launch show will feature an emotional tribute to Sir Bruce Forsyth following his death aged 89 in August.

Last year’s winning couple, sports presenter Ore Oduba and dancer Joanne Clifton, will also take to the floor.

This year’s line-up of celebrities includes Good Morning Britain newsreader Charlotte Hawkins, This Morning host Ruth Langsford and The Saturdays singer Mollie King.

Other musicians hoping to impress with their feet and not their voices are former JLS star Aston Merrygold and X Factor winner Alexandra Burke.

Hide Ad

Also hoping to shimmy their way to Glitterball glory are TV chef Simon Rimmer, EastEnders’ Davood Ghadami, Holby City star Joe McFadden and actress Chizzy Akudolu.

They will go up against Communards star, turned vicar, the Rev Richard Coles, paralympian Jonnie Peacock, comedian Susan Calman and Debbie McGee.

Hide Ad

Completing the line-up is soap star and radio presenter Gemma Atkinson and entertainer Brian Conley.

During Saturday’s launch show, viewers will also discover who this year’s contestants have been paired with.

A two-week break will follow where the couples will rehearse their first routine before returning to impress Ballas and the returning judging trio of Craig Revel Horwood, Darcey Bussell and Bruno Tonioli.

Tess Daly and Claudia Winkleman will once again present the main show while Zoe Ball will front BBC Two spin-off It Takes Two.

Related topics: