Swimming: Jamieson to lead GB team in Antwerp

MICHAEL Jamieson will spearhead a 46-strong team of British swimmers returning to competitive action at the Flanders Speedo Cup in Antwerp this weekend.

Michael Jamieson is set to lead the GB team at the Speedo Cup in Antwerp. Picture: PA
Michael Jamieson is set to lead the GB team at the Speedo Cup in Antwerp. Picture: PA

At the start of another preparation phase in a year that features the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow and European Championships in Berlin, senior swimmers such as Olympic silver medallist Jamieson and World Championship medallist Fran Halsall will be joined by Commonwealth champions Hannah Miley and Robbie Renwick as well as a host of youngsters following in their trail.

Head coach Bill Furniss said: “The Flanders Speedo Cup is the first competition of the year and provides a great opportunity for our athletes to compete against some of the top swimmers in Europe.

“In a year when we have the Commonwealth Games and European Championships it’s good for the team to be competing at a world class level at this stage of their preparations.

“It’s also important to provide the next generation of swimmers with the opportunity to race internationally as they continue to build and grow as athletes. The senior swimmers on the team will help with this development.”


Hide Ad

British Gas GBR team: Adam Barrett (Loughborough), Adam Brown (Auburn, U.S.), Adam Peaty (City of Derby), Aimee Willmott (Middlesbrough), Amy Smith (Loughborough), Andrew Willis (Bath), Anne Bochmann (Bath), Ben Proud (Plymouth Leander), Caleb Hughes (Hatfield), Calum Jarvis (Bath), Charlotte McKenzie (F.I.R.S.T), Chris Steeples (City of Manchester), Christopher Walker-Hebborn (Bath), Craig McNally (Warrender), Danielle Lowe (Bebington), Eleanor Faulkner (City of Sheffield), Elena Sheridan (Loughborough), Elizabeth Simmonds (University of Bath), Francesca Halsall (Loughborough), Georgia Davies (Swansea), Hannah Miley (Garioch), Ieuan Lloyd (City of Cardiff), James Guy (Millfield), Jazmin Carlin (Swansea), Jemma Lowe (Bath), Jessica Fullalove (City of Manchester), Jessica Lloyd (City of Manchester), Jonathan Carlisle (Bath), Joseph Roebuck (Bath), Lauren Quigley (Stockport Metro), Lewis Coleman (City of Sheffield), Matthew Johnson (Bath), Max Litchfield (City of Sheffield), Michael Jamieson (Bath), Molly Renshaw (Derventio Excel), Nicholas Grainger (City of Sheffield), Rachael Kelly (Loughborough), Rebecca Turner (City of Sheffield), Robbie Renwick (City of Glasgow), Robert Holderness (Millfield), Roberto Pavoni (Loughborough), Ross Murdoch (Stirling), Siobhan-Marie O’Connor (Bath), Sophie Allen (Bath), Sophie Smith (Loughborough), Stephen Milne (Perth City).