SRU asks Parker for explanation

MELROSE coach Gary Parker is to be invited to a meeting with the Scottish Rugby Union’s discipline panel after its members failed to reach a decision at a meeting on Thursday night over press comments made by the coach.

Parker, one of the SRU’s elite group of up-and-coming coaches, labelled referee Eddie Crozier "atrocious" after the BT Cellnet Cup tie Melrose lost to second division side Ayr earlier this month. The SRU asked the club to submit comments on the press articles, which also claimed that a Melrose official had verbally abused the whistler after the game. Melrose’s director of rugby, Mike Dalgetty, admitted he had spoken with Crozier after the game, but described reports of abuse as "grossly inaccurate".

After a meeting on Thursday night, the SRU yesterday stated: "The panel will now be in communication with the Melrose club to advise them how it proposes to take the matter forward. The panel feels it would be inappropriate to comment on the detail of its discussions until there has been an opportunity to meet with the individuals concerned and a meeting will be arranged."

Glasgow (v Scotland Under-21 at Dalziel Park, 2pm ko): Backs: Stephen Duffy, Cameron Little, Ricky Munday, Kenny Sinclair (all Glasgow Hawks), Kenny Barclay, Ross Lothian, Nicky Macleod (all West of Scotland), Shaun Little (Ayr), David Frame (Stirling County), Rory Couper (Boroughmuir), Fraser Sinclair (East Kilbride), Ross Armour (Glasgow Southern).

Forwards:Chris Docherty, Liam McIntyre, Rory McKay, Neil McKenzie, Euan Murray, Richard Maxton, Scott Hutton (all Glasgow Hawks), Gordon Sykes, Tony Wright, Neil Meikle (all Ayr), John Shaw (Currie), Jan Vos (Glasgow Southern), Stuart Bryce (Dalziel), Gavin Blackburn (Stirling County).

Scotland under-19 squad (to play Wales Schools at Malleny Park, Currie on Friday, 28 December, 2pm ko): Colin Shaw (Ayr), Chris Harris (Stirling County), Ian Berthinussen (Gala), Tom Philip (Glasgow Hawks), Stephen Gordon (Glasgow Hawks), Andrew McLean (Gala), Peter McKee (Watsonians), Robert Dewey (Dundee High School FP), Ian Morrison (Worcester), David Mitchell (Hillhead/Jordanhill), Sam Hendry (Stewart's-Melville FP), Robert Green (Darlington), John Cox (Ellon), Craig McGrath (Bristol), Alasdair Dickenson (Dundee High School FP), Alasdair Strokosch (East Kilbride), John Stewart (Stirling County), Ross Ford (Kelso), Allister Hogg (Stirling County), David Callam (Edinburgh Accies), Calum Brown (Murrayfield Wanderers), Willie Aitken (Peebles), Fergus Thomson (West of Scotland), Stuart Tindal (Langholm), Stuart Johnston (Melrose), Jonathan White (Heriot’s FP).